Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 21 Weeks & 22 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEKS 21 & 22 – June 6, 2020


Well, yesterday, at 22 weeks pregnant, I finally announced our pregnancy on Instagram and  on Facebook. Wow, that is definitely a record for me to wait until 5.5 months pregnant to finally announce the big news. It feels good to get that out there. I had not originally planned to wait such a long time….but this pandemic has just made life so weird. I have felt off and mentally all over the place during much of the time, which just didn’t make me feel like sharing the news publicly yet. Now, it felt like it was about darn time, so it’s officially done. I did not announce the gender yet, but I will do that this week.


Also, in other big news, on June 1, we finally had the big anatomy ultrasound. Baby is so big and looks so healthy! She told me that he is measuring about a week ahead and already weighed 1 pound. It was sad that Eric still is not allowed to be at my appointments, due to coronavirus. Ugh! How sad that the dad cannot even see his own child on an ultrasound. I was able to facetime him, but it just doesn’t compare. I will have an ultrasound or two in the future, and I am hopeful that by then, he will be able to come.

Speaking of which, I will need a follow up ultrasound at 28 weeks pregnant to recheck the location of my placenta. As of now, I have a partial placenta previa, which means a portion of the placenta is covering the cervical opening. I had a low lying placenta with Chloe and it ended up moving as she got bigger. I am hopeful this situation can also be resolved as the baby grows. If I still have placenta previa in late pregnancy, a c-section is required, otherwise both me and the baby could hemorrhage and die. Praying that the placenta moves and we can avoid all of that!

My age: 34

How far along: 21 & 22 weeks pregnant

How big is baby: the size of a spaghetti squash (21) and the size of an ear of corn (22). At our ultrasound at 21 weeks, the tech said he was measuring ahead and weighed exactly 1 pound even, which was about a week ahead of schedule.

Gender: Boy

Events of the past two weeks: 
Douglas county (where I live) announced that gyms could reopen! I waited and waited and still saw nothing about my gym opening….so I bit the bullet and bought a month membership at a local small gym called Balance Fitness on June 1st. This has been a huge positive and life change for me, as now I have the ability to go to the gym every day! This is such a great outlet for me! It feels amazing to have somewhere to go, and I also love being around other fitness enthusiasts who are at the gym to workout too. Also, we found out this week that the pools WILL indeed open this summer (which I was afraid that might not be the case), but won’t open until June 22, and for 90 minute reservation only style. But I am looking forward to being able to take the kids to the pool this summer! Yay!

Symptoms: 
Belly feels like it’s getting MASSIVE! My energy has slowed down A LOT. I feel so exhausted again. Feeling much better in my body image, but just feeling like “how huge is my belly going to get?!” 

Workout & Training Summary: 
Daily walks as well as 6 days/week workouts both weeks. It’s so exciting to be back in a real gym! Even having A/C is a huge blessing now that it’s getting hot. It’s nice to have access to a full gym of equipment again, including cardio machines and cable machines, which I haven’t’ had access to for months.


Workout & Training details (both weeks were the same, except the second week I didn’t do a 6th workout):
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)Tues – Upper body lifting 
Wed – High volume leg day (mainly squats)  Thur – Upper body liftingFri – Heavy deadlift day, (deadlifts @ 185)
Sat – Full body day, mostly all barbell stuff, squats, military presses, etc.


How workouts are feeling:
Feeling more exhausted, but also feeling SUPER motivated now that I’m in the gym


Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Tracking 1800-1900 calories a day, but now am shifting my mentality a bit. Rather than hitting my calories, I am trying to implement some more “healthy habits” and overall cleaner food choices into my life. I’m now limited sweets to only one day per week and trying to eating more servings of vegetables each day. I’ve also began drinking my greens drink daily as well. Just trying to be more aware of nutrients and fueling my body with healthy sources rather than focusing on calories and protein like usual. Still tracking, just trying to be better even.


How is my body changing:
Huge belly! Boobs are still big, but don’t even look that big now that my belly has gotten so large!

Sleep:
Sleep is great with the exception of a few nights here or there with insomnia.

Food cravings:
Nothing really.

Food aversions: 
Beef a little bit. We had beef two nights and I was really feeling sickened by the smell.

Movement: Strong movements. The girls and Eric are both enjoying being able to feel his kicks from the outside.

Best Moment of the Week:
Being back at the gym to workout!


What I’m looking forward to:
Summer activities and feeling hopefully “normal” again to do some regular summer activities.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Feeling exhausted and wiped out. I feel so drained from this pregnancy. It’s humbling.

What I miss: 
Nothing right now. I’m just so happy to be back at the gym and feeling a bit more normal in that sense.

Next appointment: June 24, 2020 at 10:30 am for a 24 week appointment.

Here is a look back on my pregnant bumps at 24 weeks with Winter and Chloe:

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 19 Weeks & 20 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEKS 19 & 20 – May 23, 2020

Yay for the halfway point in pregnancy. Honestly, even though I’m 20 weeks, aka “5 months” pregnant, I FEEL as though I have been pregnant for 5 YEARS. This pandemic has made life crawl by slowly. I just want normal life so badly! But cheers to halfway. And may the second half go quicker than the first half. Pretty please.


My age: 34

How far along: 19 & 20 Weeks

How big is baby: the size of a Mango (19) and a Banana (20)

Gender: Boy

Events of the past two weeks: 
Still living life during the pandemic. We have started opening our circle a bit and have now began hanging out with a few close friends. This has been so life giving! We have gone to their house and they have come over to ours. It’s just so nice. We have also been taking the kids to the park….although not for the indended use of the “playground,” as one would think–no, no: playgrounds are still closed! So we have been taking the kids to the park so they can just ride their bikes around. Also, speaking of bikes, Chloe learned to ride her pedal bike without training wheels this past week!

Symptoms: 
Growing belly. Feeling out of breath a lot. Feeling like I’m having some body image issues. A tad bit of heart burn. 

Workout & Training Summary: 
Both weeks I have gotten in 6 days of workouts in the garage. Been hitting up the MAC stairs to do the incline a few times here or there. Also, still taking daily 45 minute walks outside as a way to get in my steps for each day (and keep my sanity).

Workout & Training details: (both weeks were the same)
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)Tues – Upper body lifting 
Wed – Heavy deadlift day, (deadlifts @ 185)Thur – Upper body liftingFri – High volume squat day (squats @ 135)
Sat – Full body day (mostly barbell work at lighter weight, 45-65 lbs)


How workouts are feeling:
Feeling pretty good!


Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Still have a target for 1800 calories, mostly hitting it, but sometimes I stop tracking toward the end of the day and just eyeball it.


How is my body changing:
Bigger belly. Feeling slower. Feeling insecure. I know it’s silly….but I do suffer from body image watching my body grow. I’m just honest.

Sleep:
Overall good. Still sleeping in late daily, as there is no reason to wake up early.

Food cravings:
Nothing. Just trying to eat within my calorie level. Eating a lot of greek yogurt with berries as a way to knock out 20-30 grams of protein at once. Eating grilled chicken sandwiches & salads for lunch.

Food aversions: 
None.

Movement: Yes. More and more regular movements. Sometimes I can even feel from the outside.

Best Moment of the Week:
Hanging out with friends again! Also, finally telling one of my best friends that I’m pregnant.


What I’m looking forward to:
Life going back to “normal.” Also, looking forward to eventually announcing this pregnancy. I can’t believe I’m 20 weeks and still have yet to publicly announce.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Being stuck in this crazy life at home due to pandemic….and knowing life will be weird for a while.

What I miss: 
Eating at a restaurant. 

Next appointment: June 1, 2020 @ 11:15 am for my anatomy ultrasound.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 17 Weeks & 18 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEKS 17 & 18 – May 11, 2020


I feel excited to say that time seems to be moving along a “taddddd” bit faster than it has been during this pandemic. It feels like I just sat down to write my update, and that was already 2 weeks ago. So that’s a good thing. Updates since the last time I wrote: I am feeling baby movements now. I started feeling them at the end of week 16, a few days before I hit 17 weeks. Now, at 18 weeks, I have definitely been feeling small movements daily. 


My age: 34

How far along: 17 weeks & 18 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a (17 weeks) pear (5 inches & 5 ounces) and (18 weeks) bell pepper (5.5 inches and 6.75 ounces)

Gender: Boy

Events of the past two weeks: 
More of the same with the pandemic. During week 16, the state moved into a new phase called “safer at home” which slightly lifted a few restrictions from the “stay at home” order. From May 1st-May 26th, now some non-essential businesses can be open, but not much else has changed. I did jump in to a new thing this past week: I met up with a friend IN PERSON for the first time in two whole months. My friend and I met a few times to take walks together. It felt so refreshing to do something that felt so “normal.” Even as simple as a walk together.

Symptoms: 
Belly is growing. Having a hard time tying my shoes. Feeling pretty good, overall.

Workout & Training Summary: 
6 days & 5 days workouts these past 2 weeks. I also went to the MAC to do the stairs incline twice last week, which was a fun way to mix things up. I just miss seeing other people. There is something really motivating about seeing others working out, rather than simply being alone.

Workout & Training details (both weeks were the same, except the second week I didn’t do a 6th workout):
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)Tues – Upper body lifting 
Wed – Heavy deadlift day, working sets felt strong (deadlifts @ 185), second week I only did 145 lbs, I just didn’t feel like pushing it.  Thur – Upper body liftingFri – High volume squat day (squats @ 135)
Sat – Full body day (deadlift high volume day @ 135 lbs) –(didn’t complete this day the second week)


How workouts are feeling:
Feeling strong, but feeling like my belly is starting to make some movements feel harder.


Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Have been really on track with my 1800ish calories. Feeling good.


How is my body changing:
My friend who saw me in person was shocked at my boobs. Ha! My belly is also growing and getting higher as well. My dedication to workouts and staying on track with my food intake is definitely helping my body stay “lean” feeling. I have started wearing shorts more regularly in the past week or two, and I feel pretty confident even in shorts. Shorts are always something that’s hard for me, but esp when I’m pregnant and my body isn’t my favorite. 

Sleep:
Pretty good. Sleeping in without alarms is still a silver lining to quarantine life. This weekend, Eric and I slept until 11am both days. That kinda felt amazing. 

Food cravings:
Nothing really in particular. Eating very routinely the same things most days. Staying on track with my calories.

Food aversions: 
None.

Movement: Yes, little movements. I even could feel the movements from the outside a few times.

Best Moment of the Week:
Mother’s Day was yesterday. It was a great day. Both of my kids made me feel special.
What I’m looking forward to:
Reopening life and getting back to do some normal things again.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Social isolation. I’m so over it.

What I miss: 
Community. People. 

Next appointment: June 1, 2020 will be my 20 week appointment and anatomy ultrasound. I will be a tad over 21 weeks at that time. My last appointment was March 31, so I will officially be over 2 months between appointments due to this pandemic. As of now, Eric will not be allowed to attend the appointment, which is sad. But oh well. They said I could FaceTime him.

Here is a look back on 18 weeks pregnant with my two girls:

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 15 Weeks & 16 Weeks Pregnant (PLUS GENDER REVEAL!)

PREGNANCY WEEKS 15 & 16 – April 25, 2020


Happy 15 and 16 weeks to me! I think I am realizing that having an expectation for myself to write a weekly pregnancy update is not realistic. So, I will likely write my updates every two weeks. So this update I will be covering weeks 15 and 16. Last update, at 14 weeks, I hadn’t yet gotten the phone call & email with our NIPT results yet. So….drumroll…..we know the gender! I got a phone call from one of my midwives and she happily updated me that the genetic testing were normal and we were in the clear. That was great news to hear. She also told me that the gender results were in, and asked if I would like to know that information. I asked her to please email me the results, so that I could open it and find out with my husband and kids together. So…..as the four of us sat there, I scrolled down the email looking for the word “boy” or “girl,” fully expecting to see “girl.” I was shocked when I saw the words: “fetal sex: MALE.” I gasped and my hand flew over my mouth. We are all excited and surprised for a boy. Chloe was hoping for a boy, so she was extra thrilled. The girls have each given their brother a nickname. Chloe calls the baby Jimmy and Winter calls the baby Fernando. I love how much they already love their brother.

Also, we FINALLY decided to tell our immediate families that we are expecting. We hadn’t originally planned to wait to long to share the news, but with life being so different due to this pandemic, this is just how things went. We announced to each family over ZOOM calls. It was fun to see the excited responses of our families.


My age: 34

How far along: 15 weeks, 16 weeks

How big is baby: the size of an apple (15 weeks, 4 inches, 2.5 ounces), and the size of an avocado (16 weeks, 4.6 inches, 3.5 ounces) 

Gender: It’s a BOY! I was shocked when I found this out. Excited, but shocked.

Events of this week: 
You know, just living that quarantine life. We are now 6 weeks into quarantine at the time of writing this at 16 weeks. We are taking a lot of walks, playing outside (when it’s nice), and lots of garage workouts. Staying at home. It’s the life. Also, celebrated Eric’s 34th birthday. We also told the pregnancy news to each of our families at 15 weeks. They were all happy. Plus, I think the fact that it’s a boy is exciting for everyone.

Symptoms: 
Not many. I have had a few times of heartburn, but not many. My belly is growing. At 16 weeks, there just isn’t any hiding it anymore. Feeling pretty great. Not tired, not nauseous, not hormonal & angry. Yay! 

Workout & Training Summary: 
6 days workouts both weeks. I have felt strong and healthy.

Workout & Training details (both weeks were the same):
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)Tues – Upper body lifting 
Wed – Heavy deadlift day, working sets felt strong (deadlifts @ 185)    Thur – Upper body liftingFri – High volume squat day (squats @ 135)
Sat – Full body day (deadlift high volume day @ 135 lbs)


How workouts are feeling:
I feel strong and I feel like my body feels mostly normal, but with a bump.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Sticking at 1800 calories mostly. Feeling happy I’ve been staying on track with my diet. On Saturdays I haven’t always been tracking, but still not a cheat day.


How is my body changing:
Can’t hide my bump anymore. Otherwise feel lean and small.

Sleep:
I got my pregnancy pillow and that has been nice. Sleeping in until 9am every day is also nice due to quarantine.

Food cravings:
Peanut butter. Salt & vinegar chips. Greek yogurt. Salad. 

Food aversions: 
None.

Movement: Still unsure if I’m feeling baby or digestion.

Best Moment of the Week:
Telling our families the pregnancy news. We told them over Eric’s birthday weekend when I was 15 weeks pregnant.


What I’m looking forward to:
Looking forward to going places. Like going ANYWHERE.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Groundhog day life. This is just getting long and hard and OLD.

What I miss: 
Normal life.

Next appointment: Not scheduled. I will call soon to make an appointment for 20 week anatomy ultrasound and appointment. Hopefully by then I will be able to get an in person visit. Glad to already know the gender and know that baby is healthy, though!

Here’s a look at all 3 pregnancies at 15 weeks: