Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 39 Weeks Pregnant – FULL TERM!

PREGNANCY WEEK 39 – October 2, 2020


Wahoo, officially FULL TERM. Talk about a LONG pregnancy this go round. Wow, it feels like it has taken a lifetime to get to this point. 39 weeks pregnant feels like a huge success after some of the drama that ensued earlier this pregnancy. When I was in the hospital at 27 weeks with labor contractions that were not stopping….yeah, I was scared that I’d never see full term for this baby. I just wanted to make it another week, and then another week, and then another week….. And here I am, 39 weeks, baby is fully developed and ready to come out whenever he pleases at this point. I am so thankful.


I had my 38 appointment on Monday with one of the midwives, Barbara, and I was checked for dilatation. I was 1 cm dilated at that appointment. My fundal height measured 37 cm, which was the same fundal height that my belly has measured since about 34 weeks. She said breech babies cause unreliable fundal heights due to their positioning. So that makes sense that he was making my belly measure unreliably bigger when he was previously in breech presentation.


Barbara suggested two things for me to begin doing this past week. 1. Drink red raspberry leaf tea….and drink SIX CUPS of tea per day! That’s a lot of freaking tea! And 2. Start taking 2 capsules of Evening Primrose Oil per day. Both of these recommendations are supposed to aid in cervical softening and effacement and dilation. The red raspberry leaf tea also is known to help with uterine “toning” to make the uterus stronger and aid in faster overall labor time. So…..needless to say, drinking six cups of tea per day over this past week has been like a full time job for me. Haha! But, if it helps me have a better overall labor, then sure, why not?


This entire past week has felt like “early labor” to me. I am constantly cramping, both Braxton Hicks as well as mildly painful cramping. I definitely get the message from my body that it is prepping for labor very soon. Every night when I go to bed, part of me has wondered if THIS might be the night where my water breaks. So far, not yet! But, I do feel confident that things are happening soon.


Today, Friday, I had my 39 week appointment with Alicia, another one of the midwives I regularly see. My fundal height was 38 cm and baby’s heartbeat was around 150s. She checked me for dilated and effacement. She said I was 1.5 cm, not quite 2, and about 50% effaced. I also asked if she could sweep my membranes, which she did. That was painful, but not as bad as I remember from last pregnancy. If the membrane sweep were to work, it would only be because the baby needed a little nudge and was ready to be born anyway. They say that if it works, it should prompt labor within 48 hours. If labor doesn’t begin within 48 hours, then it didn’t work. Let’s just say….as far as today goes, I have been having painful contractions ever since I walked out of the office this morning. I am sure things are making progress down there, whether or not it results in official labor or not. I wouldn’t be mad if I had a baby this WEEKEND! We shall see.


My age: 34

How far along: 39 weeks pregnant

How big is baby: baby is the size of a baby (or if you need a fruit reference, it is a small watermelon this week)…somewhere between 19-21 inches and 7.2-7.75 lbs on average

Gender: Boy

Events of the past week:
Regular school week with both kids in school, chiropractor appointment, lots of gym workouts, playdate with a friend, went to lunch with Eric & Chloe today. Date night tonight with an actual babysitter (haven’t had a date night since PRE-CORONA!!), long overdue.

Symptoms: 
Lots of cramping. Painful and not painful. Braxton Hicks. Feeling like the baby could fall out. Uncomfortable. Heartburn.

Workout & Training Summary: 
I’ve been the most active with my workouts this past week than I have been in a long time! Makes me so happy! I’ve been working out at the gym every day this week. I usually do at least 20-30 minutes cardio and then 20-30 minutes of lifting weights. I have been doing a lot of barball deadlifts, barbell squats, military presses, lateral raises and lat pulldowns. It feels really good to workout again. I’ve had quite a few gym members and gym employees come up to me and say how encouraged they are by me. “Stop showing off!” has been said more than once. I love it!


How workouts are feeling:
Workouts feel great! I mean, they are hard with this body, but truly I’m happy and grateful to be performing real movements again after so long being unable to.


Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
I kept my diet pretty tight this week. I ate approx 1800-2000 calories each day and 120-150g protein each day. Earlier in the week, I was noticing A LOT of puffiness and swelling in my hands, ankles and feet. So, I think changing my eating to very clean and tight helped me out. 

How is my body changing:
Huge belly. My official pregnancy weight gain is 38 pounds. I think I probably won’t gain or lose anything more or less at this point, so I’m pretty happy with that finishing number. I have been working really hard to “keep it under 40!” the past several months. I am proud to have achieved that goal. I started my pregnancy pretty darn lean, so I unfortunately had to gain more this go round than I gained in my previous pregnancies where I started out quite a bit heavier body weight as well as higher body fat percentages. I know that the weight gain was necessary and also know that it will come off with proper diet, exercise and breastfeeding. So excited for that postpartum body stage!

Here’s some side-by-side belly growth from the past few months:

Sleep:
BAD. To the point that I started taking Unisom (pregnancy safe) the past 2 nights. It has been a dream and I have literally woken up refreshed and well rested the past two mornings. I NEED to be rested before laboring and delivering this baby. So thankful I decided to take stuff for sleep.

Food cravings:
Ehhh…..eggs? Like scrambled eggs. Bacon.

Food aversions: 
Full large meals.

Movement: Busy baby!

Best Moment of the Week:
Date night with my hubby. We haven’t taken any date nights since pre-pandemic….that is a mistake. I think we will regularly be taking date nights even after the baby comes. He will be easy enough to bring along to dinner when he is a newborn!


What I’m looking forward to:
Meeting this baby boy. And hopefully SOON!


What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
The pain of labor. Even though I plan to get an epidural this time, I know that I will still have to experience some pain before that point. I am truly dreading that part!

What I miss: 
Nothing. Just looking forward to what is next!


Next appointment: Had an appointment today, Friday, 10/2/20 at 10:45am. Next up….an appointment, or birth???? We shall see…..

Comparison of my three pregnancies at 39 Weeks, and yes…..look at me wearing the same sweater. 🙂

Leave a comment