First Trimester Collage – Baby #3

Here is a fun collage to compare the weekly photos from 4-13 weeks of this third pregnancy. What started as an innocent life at the beginning of 2020, ended in the beginning of a crazy worldwide global pandemic due to COVID-19. Who knew life was going to take such a sharp and sudden turn?!?

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 14 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 14 – April 10, 2020

HAPPY 2ND TRIMESTER, BABY! Wahoo!

My age: 34

How far along: 14 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a lemon

Gender: Waiting for the NIPT results. My gut says girl. But who the heck really knows. It’s 50/50 chance.

Events of this week: 
This past week has been very warm weather, so that has been fantastic. I have been in the habit of taking a daily walk each morning all by myself (or with the dog if I am feeling generous). Since Eric has been working from home due to the COVID-19 pandemic, taking a walk each morning all alone is something that I wouldn’t normally be able to do. So, I am taking advantage of this. Taking a walk for 30-45 minutes each morning before we do homeschooling, before I do my garage workout, before anything else, really helps me set the tone for a positive day. I get about 3000-4000 steps right off the bat, I get fresh air and sunshine, and it lifts my spirits to start my day. This pandemic leaves me feeling so isolated, so it feels nice to have the routine to get out and do something “out of the home” that is positive and I enjoy each day. Also, events of the week: homeschooling, lots of walks, playing outside in the backyard, I started reading again (something I have been wanting to do for a while now), and a few Zoom meetings to interact with friends, family, and our church life group.

Symptoms: 
Symptoms are very minor. I am SO THANKFUL for that. My mood is so much improved. Hormones must have leveled out. I feel like MYSELF again. I feel normal, not an emotional train-wreck like I had felt like for so long. A new symptom this week: heartburn one evening. Otherwise, bloating is gone, I feel my puffiness is gone, I feel lean and fit again.

Workout & Training Summary: 
I only worked out 4 days this week, but did go on long walks all 7 days of the week. I missed two days of workouts, but I just felt tired those days. I am ok with that. I trained legs 3 days and upper body 1 day. I hit 10-14k steps all 7 days.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Rest, felt tired and unmotivated Tues – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)
Wed – Run outside + upper body lifting 

Thur – Off, didn’t feel like it

Fri – Deadlift day, couldn’t go heavy, my left knee felt weird, working sets @ 135 
Sat – High volume legs, mostly squats (squats @ 135 lbs)

How workouts are feeling:
Workouts are feeling great! I feel strong. I feel lean and mean again.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Now, it has been nearly two whole weeks of eating much better and healthier. I FEEL IT! I am so proud to have stuck on track daily.
How is my body changing:
Feeling lean and small again. Tiny, tiny bump. Big boobs.

Sleep:
Sleep is pretty good. Sleeping in due to pandemic. I ordered a pregnancy pillow online, so I am excited about that!

Food cravings:
Salad! Veggies and light ranch dip. La Favorita chips and salsa. Greek flavored yogurts. Raisin bagel and peanut butter. Mini ice cream sandwiches.

Food aversions: 
None.

Movement: None, officially. A few night this week, I felt some movement down low, but I cannot be sure if it was baby or digestive system.

Best Moment of the Week:
Telling aunt Melody about the news.

What I’m looking forward to:
Looking forward to finding out baby’s gender. Any day now.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Life in this pandemic. I wish for “normal life” again.

What I miss: 
Basic things: gym, church, friends.

Next appointment: Not scheduled. Most likely will not have one for a little while to do the COVID-19 pandemic. My sister is loaning me her fetal dopplar, so I will be receiving that in the mail sometime next week.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 13 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 13 – April 4, 2020

My age: 34

How far along: 13 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a peach

Gender: Unknown, but we will know in the next week or so. Waiting for the NIPT blood work results, which will also include baby’s gender. I do not have a strong inclination either way, but my gut feeling is GIRL. I guess I’ll know possibly before my next update. If it’s a boy, that would be cool, but I think a girl would blend easier into our current family.

Events of this week: 
For the past 3 weeks, we have been in quarantine due to the mandatory “stay at home” orders for Coronavirus pandemic happening worldwide. We are only going out for walks, and once per week grocery story trips. School is now remote learning for the remainder of the school year, so there isn’t going to be an end to homeschooling until the end of May. We are managing well, but it’s still hard, to say the least. 

Pregnancy related, I did have a prenatal checkup on Tuesday of this past week, at 12.5 weeks. They did a NT scan as well as NIPT blood test. I have never had an ultrasound at 12 weeks before, and it was pretty neat to see just how much more developed the baby looks compared to my 9 week ultrasound. Crazy how quickly the changes happen. Baby was measuring 4 days ahead at my ultrasound, so I measured 13 weeks on that day (March 31). Due date is still 10/10, but it’ll be interesting to see what happens, I have never measured ahead with my other babies.

Symptoms: 
My symptoms have overall faded drastically in the past week or two. I’m extremely grateful to give that report. I’m feeling overall more like myself. My nausea is gone, and the fatigue has lifted by about 80-90%. I’m just feeling so much better. I feel tremendously relieved that things are looking up for me. I honestly felt like I couldn’t do much more of the 1st trimester awfulness. Thankfully, as I’m finishing up my final week of the 1st trimester, I see the light!

Here are my current symptoms:

-Increased boob size

-Managing my hunger and eating more normally and controlled

-No longer feel the desire to eat only carbs

-Fatigue has lessened so much. I have now cooked dinner the past two weeks in a row, which is something I had not done for the past several months.

-Bloating is almost entirely gone, and my body is feeling more normal but with a slight swell in my lower abdomen. No longer feel extreme puffiness and bloat.

Workout & Training Summary: 
Worked out 6 days this week. 6 days of lifting and I also did 5 outdoor runs this week. I had completely stopped runs for the past few weeks once the gym closed down. I realized my body still needs some heart rate increasing cardio, so I decided to add back 15-20 min running this week. After 5 runs, I decided 2x a week running would be plenty, so long as I’m still walking daily and getting my 10K steps. I do kinda hate running, but 2x a week should be better than 0x a week.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)
Tues – Run outside + upper body lifting 
Wed – Deadlift day, heavy, working sets @ 185 + run outside
Thur – Run outside + upper body
Fri – High volume squats (squats @ 135) + run outside
Sat – High volume legs deadlift day (deadlifts @ 115) + run outsideSun- REST DAY, went for a hike up to the Castle Rock 

How workouts are feeling:
Workouts are feeling decent this week. I won’t lie: working out at home in the garage is entirely less motivating than working out around people at the gym. Also, in the past several weeks, I have decreased my weights on heavy workouts a bit, as they were feeling too challenging (for example, deadlifts are now 185 lbs instead of 205 lbs or squats are 155 lbs instead of 165 lbs). Also, running feels hard and I feel slow, but it feels good to get my heart rate up before a lift.


Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
This week I renewed some nutrition dedication to myself for this pregnancy. At my appointment, I wasn’t happy to see a few lbs increase on the scale, so that was the reality check I needed to clean up my act a bit. I work so hard, but obviously not hard enough. So I decided to stay strictly at 1800 calories and cut out any eating after 8pm. Any eating I do after 8 or 9pm is generally untracked calories and unhealthy choices. It has been hard to make this change, but I feel proud that I’m sticking to it and am actually feeling more like my “normal body” again. I feel a bit tighter and less puffy. I hope to continue staying on track like this longterm. It truly affects everything and makes me feel so much better.

How is my body changing:
Bloating has gone away, and now I just have a little bump in my lower abdomen.

Sleep:
Sleep is filled with vivid dreams. Thankfully I sleep past 8am everyday, some days till 9am due to the quarantine.

Food cravings:
Salt and vinegar chips hit the spot the other day! Eating a lot of flavored greek yogurt. Lots of fruit. Bagels with peanut butter. 

Food aversions: 
Nothing. Eating pretty normally again. Eating dinner and real meals again.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Telling the kids about the baby. We waiting all this time until my 12 week appointment to finally clue them in about the pregnancy. Their responses have been incredible. I feel so blessed that they are excited as they are. We were nervous to tell them, because they had each previously expressed that they didn’t want a baby. Now, they are over the moon and it’s precious to have this special secret with them. They keep hugging my belly and saying, “I love you baby.” I’m so glad they are so happy.

What I’m looking forward to:
I’m looking forward to enjoying this next season of FEELING BETTER! So far, I’m enjoying feeling more like myself, both physically and emotionally. I am excited to have the worst behind me. I feels like a huge relief.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Staying at home for another month or two. Let’s pray by summer time, we can get out and get back to normal life.

What I miss: 
I miss going to the gym. I miss going to church. I miss the little things about “normal life.”

Next appointment: Not scheduled. With the pandemic, I might not actually have an appointment until 20 weeks. We shall see.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 10 Weeks, 11 Weeks, 12 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEKS 10, 11, 12 – March 14, March 21, March 28, 2020

My age: 34

How far along: 10, 11, 12 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a strawberry (1.18 inches), lime (1.61 inches), and plum (2.09 inches)

Gender: Unknown, planning to find out. We think we may do the genetic blood test this pregnancy (at this week’s upcoming appointment), which would also mean finding out the gender earlier than we did with our other two kids (we waited until the 20 week anatomy scan).

Events of this week: 
There has been a whole lot going on. Not only am I writing this update that covers 3 weeks of the pregnancy, but there is also a worldwide pandemic going on. Our lives have drastically changed.

Firstly, before going into that, I want to talk about my first prenatal visit and ultrasound. I went in for my first checkup on March 9, 2020, at 9 weeks +2 days pregnant. We got to see the baby on the ultrasound and he/she had a heart beat of 183 bpm. Honestly, seeing the baby for the first time finally made this pregnancy feel real and made me feel a glimmer of excitement. Leading up to that point, I was feeling (as all moms before a first ultrasound feel) worried about finding a healthy heart beat on the scan. I also was so miserable with my symptoms that it was hard to get excited. But–that appointment was a turning point for me. The excitement finally began.

Also, as noted above, the past few weeks have brought a huge lifestyle change: the coronavirus pandemic. COVID-19 is a virus that has spread worldwide and is killing thousands of people in each country. Due to the highly contagious nature of the virus as well as no treatments or vaccinations against it, the world has taken some drastic measures to prevent the spread. “Social distancing” is the new term that is commonplace in each household. “Stay at home” orders and “shelter in place” have been mandated to most states in the US. Nothing is open, except for grocery stores and some restaurants (take-out only). Schools have been closed for weeks. The final day Winter had school was March 11th, and she will not be returning to school again this year. We are doing remote learning, which means I am homeschooling her. The teacher sends the students assignments on the computer and then we turn them in. It sure is a huge lifestyle change: staying at home full time, homeschooling, no church, no gym, no social life, no friends (in-person). As of right now, the orders are until May 1st. We shall see what things look like in the coming month.

Symptoms: 
I am happy to say that I am feeling better overall. That is awesome to report. I am feeling like a human being again. I am no longer going to bed at 6:30 or 7pm each night. I am no longer irritable and hate people like I had been feeling before. (Though this hasn’t gone away, 100%, I still feel slightly irritable, but a HUGE improvement.)-Increased boob size-Dizziness & headaches a couple of times-A lot of my food issues have gone away, I feel like I can eat most anything again-Nausea is gone-Fatigue has lifted tremendously-Feeling more emotionally controlled-Feeling “better” and more “like myself” again.


Workout & Training Summary: 
Workouts have changed a bit since my last update, but surprisingly not as much as you’d think. Week 10 is when the gym closed it’s doors due to mandated shut down for coronavirus. So week 9 I was still in the gym 6 days that week. Week 9 is when I noticed it was time to slightly decreased my weight for heavy squat and heavy deadlift day. It just felt like “time.” For squats, I had previously been doing my heavy working sets at 165 lbs, and I reduced to 155 lbs. For deadlifts, I had previously been doing my heavy working sets at 205 lbs, but usually felt like I needed to wear my weightlifting belt. At week 9, I no longer felt comfortable wearing my belt, and made the decision to do my heavy working sets at 185 lbs beltless. This is where I have continued to work the past few weeks. Also: once I transitioned to garage gym workouts, thankfully we have everything we need: barbell & weight plates, various dumbbells, bands, and a kettlebell. Weeks 11 & 12 I only worked out 5 days each of those weeks instead of 6, for whatever reason.


Workout & Training details weeks 10, 11, 12:
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 155)
Tues – Upper body lifting 
Wed – Deadlift day, heavy (working sets @ 185)
Thur – Upper body
Fri – High volume squats (squats @ 135) 
Sat – High volume legs deadlift day (deadlifts @ 135) Sun – REST DAY 

How workouts are feeling:
Transitioning to home workouts is mentally challenging. I feed off of the gym environment where others are working hard too. Doing it all alone is a whole different beast. My motivation and enjoyment is much less. But, I’m a dedicated person to my lifting, so I will keep up my workouts as best as I can. I am noticing that my stamina is down, probably from a lack of HIIT runs, as well as belly growth. Still feeling fairly strong.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
I am hit or miss! Now that I am feeling better, I feel like I can eat more normally again. The area I am struggling with: my appetite has increased. I’m just hungry! So, my best intentions are to track calories daily at 1800, but I would say I go over almost every day. I will get this managed at some point. I have to give myself grace.

How is my body changing:
Bloating is still coming at going, feel puffy and full. Big boobs. Don’t feel confident in my skin most of the time, sadly.

Sleep:
One positive about this quarantine is that I get to SLEEP IN! I am thrilled about that. I am sleeping well. Dreams are annoying, haha!

Food cravings:
Raisin bagels with peanut butter, peanut butter and apples. oatmeal, flavored greek yogurt, fruit, egg sandwiches.

Food aversions: 
Meals aren’t as much of an aversion as they were. I actually started cooking dinner again within the past week or two!

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Seeing baby on the ultrasound for the first time! That made this whole thing finally feel “worth it” and feel real and exciting.

What I’m looking forward to:
Looking forward to the world resuming “normal life” and the pandemic being over with!

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Continued quarantine life.

What I miss: 
I miss “normal.” I am happy to finally feel better this pregnancy, but now I suddenly am trapped at home and we cannot go anywhere or see anyone.

Next appointment: Tuesday, March 31, 2020 – 12 week NT ultrasound and prenatal checkup.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 9 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 9 – March 7, 2020

My age: 33

How far along: 9 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a cherry

Gender: Unknown

Events of this week: 
The coronavirus came to Colorado. People are having pure panic and mass hysteria. I literally can’t buy a roll of toilet paper when we run out because people are hoarding and stockpiling. It’s kinda insane. People are crazy and I’m shocked at how people are reacting.

Symptoms: 
1. Moody and irritated. I hate everyone. Not joking. I cannot stand being around anyone except my kids. I hate feeling this way.
2. Tired. Seems like it may be lessening just a hair.
3. Nausea when I have an empty stomach, but not as much as before.
4. Bloated and puffy, but the bloating isn’t as extreme.
6. Angry and emotional. I basically want to be left alone. It’s very intense.

Workout & Training Summary: 
Worked out 6 days this week. 6 days of lifting and two days of HIIT cardio running. Two heavy leg days, two upper body days, and two high volume leg days.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 165)
Tues – HIIT Run + upper body lifting 
Wed – heavy deadlifts, working sets @ 205
Thur – HIIT Run + upper body
Fri – High volume squats (squats @ 135)
Sat – High volume legs day 2, couldn’t get a platform, so I didn’t deadlift unfortunately

How workouts are feeling:
Workouts feel pretty decent when it comes to strength. Endurance is terrible. I feel self conscious in my body, I feel like I look puffy, which affects my mood during my workouts.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
I’m hitting 1800 some days and other days I lose track and go over, I’m sure. I’m having trouble staying on track some days if I’m honest. That kinda kills me since I’m so in control of my Nutrition usually. Protein is usually around 100 grams a day.

How is my body changing:
My belly isn’t bloating as much, but I am thinking it’s starting to be round and no turning back. I feel overall less puffy but still uncomfortable in my skin. My boobs are triple their original size. My ribcage seems to have expanded and look wider.

Sleep:
Sleeping is so broken due to dreams. I can sleep 10 hours and still feel exhausted.

Food cravings:
Candy, chick-fil-a sandwich, Greek yogurt cups, jello, Cheerios

Food aversions: 
Not really having aversions, just not interested to eat full meals.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Church. Pastor Chad was back to guest speak and I loved it.

What I’m looking forward to:
My first prenatal appointment next week. I think once l have that appointment and see an ultrasound, I’ll start feeling excited about pregnancy.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
I’m not enjoying anything social or bring around people whatsoever. I just want to be alone and not deal with people. I’m just being honest.

What I miss: 
Having a better attitude. I hate who I’ve become, but hormones are making me crazy and literally a different person. I’m miserable.

Next appointment: March 9, 2020 @ 9.5 weeks, so close!

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 8 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 8 – February 29, 2020

My age: 33

How far along: 8 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a raspberry

Gender: Unknown

Events of this week: 
Nothing too eventful other than Eric had a minor surgical procedure to remove a bacterial growth. That was not fun for him to go to the hospital. We both are a sad sight that we are both laying around: recovering, me exhausted from pregnancy.

Symptoms: 
1. Moody and irritated. I hate everyone.
2. Tired.
3. Nausea when I have an empty stomach.
4. Bloated and puffy.
5. Digestive system basically doesn’t work.
6. Emotional, I hate being emotional so much

Workout & Training Summary: 
Worked out 6 days this week. 6 days of lifting and two days of HIIT cardio running. Two heavy leg days, two upper body days, and two high volume leg days.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 165)
Tues – HIIT Run + upper body lifting 
Wed – heavy deadlifts, working sets @ 205
Thur – HIIT Run + upper body
Fri – High volume squats (squats @ 135)
Sat – High volume deadlifts (deadlifts 10×10 @ 135)

How workouts are feeling:
My strength and power are definitely still there. My endurance and cardio feel like that’s the area that’s challenged and suffering. But I’m ok with that because weights are what I love anyway. My two days of HIIT running are more challenging than before. My speeds are reduced a bit but I’m ok with that. Still doing 15-18 min for those HIIT runs.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
I’ve had to become realistic with myself. It’s not ok for me to try to cut and eat only 1600 calories while I’m pregnant. My body needs fuel to grow a baby. I’ve set a goal to hit 1800 most days and some days it’s more like 2000 or more. I need to get out of my cutting calories mentality.

How is my body changing:
My boobs are giant. I’m so bloated. I feel puffy and full. I don’t like How this feels right now. I’m so used to being lean all the time, and now I’m struggling mentality to feel puffy and bloated.

Sleep:
Sleeping solid, but lots of dreams.

Food cravings:
Egg sandwiches. Chick-fil-a chicken sandwich, not nuggets, but the sandwich. Fruit, mangoes.

Food aversions: 
Anything with bold smells. Basically I am not eating real meals anymore. I don’t eat true dinner anymore.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Time with my family.

What I’m looking forward to: 
Feeling better and more like myself.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
The fact that the first trimester still has an entire month to go.

What I miss: 
My body and attitude feeling normal.

Next appointment: March 9, 2020 @ 9.5 weeks

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 7 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 7 – February 22, 2020

My age: 33

How far along: 7 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a blueberry

Gender: Unknown

Events of this week: 
Monday was Presidents day, so it was a short school week. I had a hair appt to finally get my balayage touched up after 5 months. Friday night I took Winter out for a mom and me date night. Eric took Chloe out that night also. Not a super eventful week.

Symptoms: 
1. Full/heavy/tender boobs. I feel like they grew overnight again. It’s so uncomfortable.
2. Digestion is just awful and all messed up.
3. My hip flexors occasionally hurt if a stand up too fast.
4. I’m sooooo irritable and annoyed by everyone. I feel angry.
5. Exhaustion. All I can do is lie around. I feel so lazy but I cannot help it.
6. Bloating.

Workout & Training Summary: 
My workouts felt good for some days and exhausting for others. I feel like my energy for strength and power are still running well, but my endurance and stamina are tanked. My HIIT running feels nearly impossible, but I’m just proud to still give it a good effort. I actually surprised myself on Wednesday with a little deadlift PR. I was feeling strong so I did 225 for 5 reps, which is a personal best for me.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 165)
Tues – HIIT Run + upper body lifting 
Wed – heavy deadlifts, working sets @ 205, felt good so I even got a PR by pulling 225 for 5 reps! That felt amazing.
Thur – HIIT Run + back & biceps lifting- running felt almost impossible
Fri – High volume squats & hip thrusts (squats @ 135)
Sat – High volume deadlifts (deadlifts 10×10 @ 135)

How workouts are feeling:
Endurance and cardio feels hard, but strength feels pretty good.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Oh my goodness. My eating is driving me bonkers. I am usually the most controlled and strategic eater. This week, I realized I have to let go of whatever “normal” is supposed to be. I am eating things that feel light and not heavy. Fruit and Kodiak cakes are my main staples. Basically not hungry to eat full dinner or any big meals. I was trying to eat 1650-1700 this week and successfully did for the whole week until we hit the weekend. I didn’t track this weekend and sure I was over in calories. It’s just so mentally tough!!! I feel like crap and it’s so hard to eat how I want to eat or how I usually eat.

How is my body changing:
I have to stop weighing myself daily. I usually like weighing myself daily, but now I’m realizing that the scale fluctuates and is going up a bit, even when I am keeping my calories tight. That’s extremely frustrating because usually keeping tight calories means the scale doesn’t go up. My boobs are so heavy so I know that plus water retention are causing the increase in the scale, but it’s still mentally tough for me to see an increase, even if it’s small. Anyway, my boobs are huge, my belly is bloated often and I just don’t feel like my usual lean and tight body. It’s hard for me. Really hard.

Sleep: 
Very tired is an understatement.

Food cravings: Kodiak Cakes. Peanut butter. Bagel egg sandwiches. Mangos. Grapefruit.

Food aversions: Heavy food. Big dinners just aren’t happening. I’m not too keen on meat right now too.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Date night with Winter.

What I’m looking forward to: 
I am looking forward to feeling better.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Bloating and extreme fatigue.

What I miss: 
Feeling like myself. Both physically and mentally.

Next appointment: March 10, 2020, My birthday. I’ll be 9 weeks, 3 days for my first appt and ultrasound.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 6 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 6 – February 15, 2020

My age: 33

How far along: 6 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a lentil bean

Gender: Unknown

Events of this week: 
We had a little Valentine’s Day playdate at my house with Chloe and her little friends. Both girls had swimming lessons this week. Went out on a date night with my hubby for V-day. Volunteered at church, like usual. Had out spring semester Life Group kickoff at our house.

Symptoms: 
1. Full/heavy/tender boobs. I feel like they grew overnight again. It’s so uncomfortable.
2. Digestion is just awful and all messed up.
3. My hip flexors occasionally hurt if a stand up too fast.
4. I’m sooooo irritable and annoyed by everyone. I feel angry.
5. Exhaustion. All I can do is lie around. I feel so lazy but I cannot help it.
6. Bloating.

Workout & Training Summary: 
My workouts feel good and bad. Haha. I can tell I’m pregnant.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Heavy squats (squats @ 165)
Tues – HIIT Run + upper body lifting 
Wed – heavy deadlifts, working sets @ 205, felt good!
Thur – HIIT Run + back & biceps lifting- running felt hard
Fri – High volume squats & hip thrusts (squats @ 135)
Sat – High volume deadlifts (deadlifts 10×10 @ 135)

How workouts are feeling:
Endurance and cardio feels hard, but strength feels pretty good.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
I am basically not hungry to eat full dinner or any big meals. I am trying to eat 1650-1700 this week and successfully did for the whole week. I know eventually I will have to up my calories, but for now….this is what I have got!

How is my body changing:
I usually like weighing myself daily, but now I’m realizing that the scale fluctuates due to my hormones and water retention….and is going up a bit, even when I am keeping my calories tight. It’s hard for me, even if I know it’s necessary and normal.

Sleep: VERY TIRED.

Food cravings: Kodiak Cakes. Peanut butter. Bagel egg sandwiches. Mangos. Grapefruit.

Food aversions: Heavy food. Big dinners just aren’t happening. I’m not too keen on meat right now too.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Date night with Eric for Valentine’s Day.

What I’m looking forward to: 
I am looking forward to feeling better.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
The scale fluctuating already.

What I miss: 
Feeling like myself, pregnancy is hard when I have been so fit for so long.

Next appointment: Calling to schedule soon. Likely around my birthday in March.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 5 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 5 – February 8, 2020

My age: 33

How far along: 5 weeks

How big is baby: the size of an apple seed

Gender: Unknown

Events of this week:
This week was the first full week that I’ve known I was pregnant. I have started having more symptoms. Several of my friends and my sister know that I’ve been trying to get pregnant. Several of them asked for updates on how that’s going and if I am pregnant. I decided to straight up lie. I hate lying, but I also am not ready to share this information with anyone besides Eric. It’s special to share this information with each other, and I don’t feel like including anyone in this special secret yet. I don’t know when I’ll feel ready. Once someone knows my secret, I really don’t have control over who they tell my secret to. So for now, it’s only Eric and I that know and it feels good that way.

Symptoms: 
1. Full/heavy/tender boobs.
2. My digestive system is all messed up. In the mornings I’m fine, but as soon as I start eating full meals, my digestive system makes me BLOAT like crazy. It’s very uncomfortable.
3. Bad bloating after eating meals. It doesn’t really go away.
4. Had a touch of heartburn after eating chick-fil-a the other night.
5. Fatigue. Been resting a lot this week.

Workout & Training Summary: 
My workouts felt pretty good this week. Did 6 workouts this week, including 2 HIIT cardio, 6 days lifting.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – Heavy squats & hip thrusts (squats @ 175, hip thrusts @ 225)
Tues – HIIT Run + upper body lifting
Wed – heavy deadlifts, working sets @ 205, felt heavy!
Thur – HIIT Run + back & biceps lifting
Fri – High volume squats & hip thrusts (squats & hip thrusts @ 135)
Sat – High volume deadlifts (deadlifts @ 155)

How workouts are feeling:
I miss preworkout! But coffee and a banana are doing ok in its place. I feel pretty good, but some of my weights felt heavier than usual this week. Trying to listen to my body as adjust as needed.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Currently tracking calories at 1800 per day. Did really well most days, but Thursday after doing cardio, I came home famished and felt like I could eat the house. Eating makes me BLOAT and that’s very uncomfortable to be spool bloated. That day of eating like that made me realize how much I like eating healthy. My goal is to eat 1800 calories as much as possible and 120 grams protein.

How is my body changing:
My body feels mostly good, but I am not loving how bloated I feel after I eat meals. The bloating makes me have a huge belly full of air. My boobs look noticeably bigger and bounce when I workout.

Sleep:
Very tired and I’ve been resting more. Dozing off easily at night.

Maternity clothes:  No

Food cravings: None.

Food aversions: None.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week:
Going to the zoo in a nice day with my family.

What I’m looking forward to: 
I am trying to enjoy and soak in each part of the process without rushing anything. This is my last pregnancy, so I want to cherish each stage of the pregnancy. I look forward to that first appointment and ultrasound, but I’m not trying to rush this early pregnancy weeks away either. I’ll most likely see the midwife around 7-9 weeks pregnant for the first appointment.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Bloating and fatigue.

What I miss: 
My normal tight stomach. The bloating is making me miss normal digestive functioning.

Next appointment: Not yet scheduled.

Baby #3 – Pregnancy Update – 4 Weeks Pregnant

PREGNANCY WEEK 4 – February 1, 2020

My age: 33

How far along: 4 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a poppy seed

Gender: Unknown

Events of this week:
We are on cycle number 2 of trying to conceive. I was hopeful to be pregnant this month, and felt confident that I possibly could indeed be pregnant because I tracked my ovulation through an opk kit this cycle. I got back from a girl’s birthday getaway weekend for my mom in Michigan on Monday night. Tuesday night, January 28, I casually asked Eric if he wanted to sit with me while I took a pregnancy test. He hadn’t been included in the pregnancy testing with either of my other pregnancies, so it was special to include him. Because it was only about 10 DPO, I wasn’t expecting a BFP when testing that night at such an early point. I was shocked when the pregnancy test turned dark positive within a minute or less. I was only 10/11 days past ovulation, so I wasn’t even expecting a faint line yet. I was shocked to see a dark line. Thrilled and relieved!! Then I proceeded to take a digital test and it read PREGNANT. No denying that word. Due date is 10/10/20, which is Winter’s 7th birthday. I’ll have three kids all with October birthdays. I hope the baby is born NOT on her birthday. My prediction is 10/12 birth date, as both my babies were born exactly 2 days past my due dates.

Symptoms: 
Very heavy, full and sore boobs: They feel gigantic. A little irritable and short temper.

Workout & Training Summary: 
I lift heavy weights. I got a PR on my squat right before my weekend trip of 195 lbs. Then today, I got a deadlift PR of 240 lbs. I’m so stoked. I worked out 5 days this week: 3 heavy leg days, 2 upper body days, and 1 HIIT running. I really have been wanting to retest my deadlift max. I didn’t get that done before pregnancy, so I did it today whether I felt like it or not, otherwise I’ll run out of time. I wanted to get a PR of 250, but I’m happy with the 240 I did pull. It’s definitely different not having preworkout anymore.

Workout & Training details:
Mon – rest day (traveling)
Tues – full body lifting (squats @ 135)
Wed – heavy deadlift day, working sets @ 205
Thur – 15 min HIIT running, upper body lifting day
Fri – Squats day, working sets @ 155 (beltless)
Sat – max out deadlift, new 1RM PR @ 240

How workouts are feeling:
This week I still felt energized and good. No more taking preworkout, which is an adjustment for my energy level. Also limiting coffee so that affects energy too. New preworkout : coffee and a banana.

Nutrition, Protein & Calories:
Currently tracking calories at 1800 per day. Have been generally hitting that goal most every day. Goal is 120 grams protein. I think I got between 110-120g most days this week.

How is my body changing:
My body feels a bit puffy and like I’m retaining water. Weight fluctuates a bit, was up 1.5 lbs one day and down the regular the next. Overall gain: 0 lbs

Sleep: Not bad, actually falling asleep without melatonin.

Maternity clothes:  No

Food cravings: None.

Food aversions: None.

Movement: None.

Best Moment of the Week: BFP with my husband.

What I’m looking forward to: 
The challenge of staying fit and healthy this pregnancy. I want to track my food as well as lift weights 5-6 days for this entire pregnancy. My goal is also to keep my weight gain to 25 lbs or less.

What I’m not enjoying/or not looking forward to:
Not looking forward to feeling badly or being tired. Also not ready to share this news with a single soul, so I may have to lie and I’m not looking forward to that.

What I miss: Nothing.

Next appointment: Not yet scheduled.