Baby #2 BUMP REPORT – 31 Weeks

31weeks

PREGNANCY WEEK 31 – August 22, 2015

With only two months to go, baby girl is approximately 16.5 inches long and 3.5 pounds, the size of a pineapple. From what I’ve read, a major growth spurt is just ahead, and baby will be packing on a half pound a week from now on. My overall weight gain so far has me pretty pleased, as I’m up 23 pounds. In my last pregnancy I gained majority of the weight during the 2nd trimester and then maintained and even lost weight in the 3rd trimester. I doubt that I will maintain or lose weight this go round, but as long as I gain 30 pounds or less, I will be very happy. I started this second pregnancy significantly lighter than my first pregnancy, so I was worried that I might gain more weight, but so far I’m doing great!

My belly is feeling “huge” lately and feels like it weighs a thousand pounds. When I lie in bed in my pillow fortress, I am so grateful to have a pillow underneath my belly, otherwise it feels like a ton of bricks. I have trouble reaching to the ground and now regularly sit down to put my shoes on. Certain tasks are a challenge for me, but all of that is to be expected at nearly 8 months into pregnancy.

Nannying is going great. I have 3 full weeks under my belt now. The first couple of weeks were interesting and challenging because I was trying to figure out how to do everything. I also was trying to get into a groove. As of this week, we really did master getting a good schedule down! I am SO thrilled because I need the predictability of a schedule as it helps me to have structure around my days. Miles would only nap for the most of one hour at first, but now I’ve got him taking 1.5-2 hour naps, which is fantastic. He’s a happier baby and I’m a happier lady! Here’s kind of what my nannying days look like.

6:30 am – Drop off, I get him a bottle ready and feed him

7:00 am – He dozes off for his early-morning nap and I hit the home gym for a workout (7-9 am nap, two hours)

9:00 am – He gets up, Winter also gets up at this time. We typically head out the door to get to a morning activity by 9:30 or 10.

10:30ish – He takes another bottle and dozes off from about 11-12 (1 hour nap)

12:00/30 pm – He wakes up and we play, Winter gets lunch

1:30 pm – Bottle and then takes an afternoon nap from (1:45-3:30/45, nice two hours!) Winter also goes down for her nap at this time.

3:30/45 pm – He gets picked up

Now that I’ve got him on such a good solid routine, I feel like a new woman with new energy! I’m just reminded again of HOW IMPORTANT a schedule is for me when I care for a baby. I think I thrive and the baby thrives much better and we are all happier campers. When my baby is born, I plan to nurse on demand for the first month and then try to get a good schedule going around 1 month old. I pray for another good sleeper like Winter!

My age: 29

How far along: 31 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a pineapple (16.5 inches and 3.5 pounds)

Gender: Girl

Events of this week: Nannying, spent time with best friend who’s visiting from TX, went to library storytime, went walking several days by either by myself or with friends, had a MOPS leader meeting, went to the chiropractor, went to a MNO, did a newborn photography shoot (eek!).

Symptoms: Feeling great overall! Whenever people ask me how I feel, my answer is: “Great! This is a really easy pregnancy.” I almost feel guilty saying this as I know how tough pregnancy is for a lot of my friends. Having some occasional heartburn, my belly feels like a thousand pounds, but overall great.

Exercise/Activity: I got back into a good groove this week. I exercised 5 days and did a lot of additional outdoor walking (3-4 milers) on top of working out. Lifting a lot of weights, doing tons of weighted squats and running on the treadmill. Since my nanny baby is getting into a good routine regarding naps, it helps. Since I am already up early in the morning, so I’ve been knocking out my workouts first thing when he takes his first nap but before Winter gets up for the day.

Sleep: I’m sleeping wonderfully. Not even getting up at night to pee. At all. It will be short-lived, I promise.

Maternity clothes:  Yes.

Stretch marks: No.

Belly Button: Out.

Food cravings: Peaches, swiss cheese and greek yogurt with craisins mixed in.

Food aversions: None.

Movement: Sometimes I almost lose my breath because of her kicks!

Best Moment of the Week: Miles had an appointment on Friday so his dad took the day off work. Since I got the day off from nannying, Winter and I had a “just the two of us” day, which was really sweet. It felt really special to spend the whole day with her and cherish time spent as mom and daughter. It was a great day.

Worst Moment of the Week: None.

What I’m looking forward to: Downtime with my family. Lately we feel too busy, and I just look forward to lazy weekend days. Also looking forward to seeing my Dad and Mom for a few hours on Thursday (they have a layover in Denver and I plan to visit during their stop).

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Praying that I continue to feel good and not too tired. Taking care of a toddler plus a baby while being almost 8 months pregnant does present some challenges. I am thankful that I can do it, but I pray that my body doesn’t put up a fight.

What I miss: Not feeling achy for the few moments when I first get up from lying or sitting.

Next appointment: Thursday, August 27 at 4:20 p.m.

Bump comparison:31weeks

Baby #2 31 Week Pic:

31weekscrop

2 thoughts on “Baby #2 BUMP REPORT – 31 Weeks

Leave a Reply

