Baby #2 BUMP REPORT – 29 Weeks

29weeks

PREGNANCY WEEK 29 – August 9, 2015

The baby is nearly 3 pounds, the size of a butternut squash. She kicks and moves like crazy. At my ultrasound/midwife appointment last week I was told that she’s already in head down position. That’s great! But she still can move out of it pretty easily. I do feel most of her kicks in my ribs and upper part of my stomach, not much down at the bottom. At 27 weeks I first felt her hiccupping, so that’s been fun to feel those occasionally these past two weeks! I didn’t first feel hiccups with Winter’s pregnancy until nearly 31 weeks.

My life took a sudden change this week. I started a full time nanny job for a four month old baby. My life as a “mom of one” is no longer…except on the evenings and weekends, that is. It’s actually really great practice for me to care for a baby and toddler. Not only am I getting much needed practice, but Winter also is getting used to having a baby in the house. She is doing fantastic with the adjustment, and loves baby Miles! She wants to be a helper and she wants to kiss, hug and care for him. She always puts his blanket on, gives him hugs and kisses, pushes him in the swing, turns on the vibration or music on the bouncy seat, etc. When she wakes up from her nap in the afternoons, he is gone for the day and she always asks where he is! So cute!

Nannying is from 6:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, so I’m learning to wake up much earlier than I previously did. But that, in and of itself, is good training too—since we know I won’t be getting to sleep in once my baby is born anyway! Winter typically sleeps until 9:00 a.m. so the first few hours of the day I only have Miles. I am so grateful to have our double BOB stroller that we recently purchased. Without it, I don’t know how I’d do certain things with two. It’s nice to be able to snap Miles’ carseat in the BOB and have Winter ride along too. We have been taking LONG walks most days as he tends to sleep during walks…so I just keep on walking!

From nannying, I am definitely learning that baby #2 is going to be much more flexible. With Miles, he does some of his naps on the go. Because I have a toddler who needs to be out and active, I imagine morning naps with our baby will be flexible and done in the carseat much of the time. With Winter I stayed home for naps…I just don’t see that being the case with a second child.

I’m sure I’ll have lots more to say about nannying in upcoming weeks. It’s a fun experience and I’m grateful to be able to earn a little extra money while getting practice caring for two kids. I must say…when I go out in public with my 22 month old, a 4 month old baby at 7 months pregnant, I think EVERYONE is confused by my situation! HAHA! At the library for baby story time the other morning, I mentioned to someone casually that I wasn’t Miles’ mom, and she said she had mentally done the math an figured that out. I’d be confused too….

Passed my glucose test with flying colors… Yay! Don’t have to do the 3 hour test like I did last pregnancy.

I have to stop and rave about the chiropractor really briefly. I previously worked for a chiropractor for several years prior to becoming a stay at home mom, so I know that chiropractic is great. It really helps people and I have personally witnessed so many success stories of people getting fantastic results. Honestly I never had any pain or symptoms myself, so I never was a “before and after” success story for chiropractic. But now, with this pregnancy I was experiencing terrible pubic bone pain….and let’s just say it was very painful. So bad. But after 3 weeks of chiropractic visits (once per week), I am feeling great! I still have minor discomfort from time to time, but it’s drastically improved. My chiropractor is amazed at how quickly my body responded to the adjustments. Because I feel so good, I plan to continue with weekly chiropractic visits throughout the remainder of my pregnancy.

My age: 29

How far along: 29 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a butternut squash (15.5 inches and 2.9 pounds)

Gender: Girl

Events of this week: Got adjusted to my first week of nannying, went on lots of long walks, went out one night to Denver to celebrate a good friend’s birthday, went to an outdoor music concert in the park in our neighborhood, had small group, went to a baby dedication, took pictures of two families, went out on a date night with Eric.

Symptoms: Emotional, heartburn flare ups, ribs feel like they’re running out of room.

Exercise/Activity: Lots of exercise this week. 5 days of weight training and/or running/cardio. Plus lots of long walks.

Sleep: Sleep is decent.

Maternity clothes:  Yes.

Stretch marks: No.

Belly Button: Out.

Food cravings: Yogurt with craisins.

Food aversions: None.

Movement: Lots, especially in my ribs.

Best Moment of the Week: Watching Winter adapt to the changes of having a baby in the house. Knowing that she is going to be such an amazing big sister just warms my heart. I know she is going to love her little sister. She is obsessed with all babies, but I know her own flesh and blood will be even more special. It will be so amazing as a mom to see her grow into the role of a big sister. She proves daily with Miles that she is going to rock at it.

Worst Moment of the Week: None.

What I’m looking forward to: My BFF is coming to visit Colorado from Texas next week and I can’t wait to see her! She has 7 month old twins, and I’m sure they are so different than when I last saw them in May. Also, on Friday there are girls in my local mom’s group who are throwing a baby sprinkle for all of the expecting moms. So nice of them! It’ll be lots of fun to celebrate with a brunch and activities.

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Praying that I do well with my new busier lifestyle with a household of two kids…

What I miss: Nothing.

Next appointment: Friday, Aug. 14 at 2:30pm

Comparison of pregnancies:

I think that my belly is evening out now. Previously I felt like my belly has been drastically bigger than my first pregnancy…but now it’s starting to level out. My midwife said that by 40 weeks I really shouldn’t be any different than my 40 week belly with baby #1. So I guess that’s starting to happen. I was told today by a friend how “tiny” I am.

29weeks

29 Week picture:

29weekscrop

Leave a Reply

