Baby #2 BUMP REPORT – 28 Weeks

28weeks

PREGNANCY WEEK 28 – August 1, 2015 – THIRD TRIMESTER!

The final stretch is upon us. It’s now the last trimester and it’s starting to get real that time is ticking until her due date.

We had our ultrasound on Friday to check a few things. The main concern was the location of my placenta, as it was less than a centimeter away from the cervix at my 20 week scan. Thankfully, it has moved over four centimeters up, so now there is no concern of a low lying placenta and we can proceed with a natural birth! So glad for good news. It was also really neat to see her on the ultrasound as she is so much bigger and more active. Her estimated weight from the scan was 2 pounds, 8 ounces. She had the hiccups and she was bouncing off the walls as we watched her. I asked the ultrasound tech if we could turn on the 3D imaging for a moment to get a glimpse of her face, and she did! It was so cool to see her features…she looks adorable! Chubby cheeks, plump lips and a pug nose. Looks very much like her sister. That made things feel a bit more real for me. Winter enjoyed seeing her baby sister on the ultrasound too.

In addition to the ultrasound, I also took my glucose test to screen for gestational diabetes. They gave me the option to drink Naked Red Machine instead of the typical orange nasty glucose drink, as they both contain 50 grams of sugar. That was amazing to drink a yummy beverage instead of that other goop! I won’t get my results in until at least Monday….fingers crossed for a passed test. I failed the 1 hour screening with Winter’s pregnancy, so I know that the 3 hour test is NO FUN. I felt very sick and shaky, plus, you are stuck at the doctor’s office for over 3 hours. I’d love to avoid taking it if possible.

Baby’s heartbeat was in the 150’s or 160’s (I forget exactly), I’m guessing because I was hopped up on sugar and so was she. My belly measured right at 28 cm, which is perfectly on track for 28 weeks. The midwife said everything looks great and from here on out we will switch to appointments every 2 weeks.

Unfortunately I had a minor cold over the past week. I’m feeling pretty good now, but it was annoying to have a cold yet again, since I just had one in June. Ugh! I guess my immune system is lowered during pregnancy.

My age: 29

How far along: 28 weeks

How big is baby: the size of an eggplant (15 inches and 2.5 pounds)

Gender: Girl

Events of this week: Spent a night in the mountains to celebrate our anniversary, rode the gondola at Breckenridge, watched the Bachelorette finale, went to the splash park, play dates with friends, had small group, went to Film on the Rocks to see Pretty Woman as a MNO, went to the pool.

Symptoms: More emotional than usual, belly feels huge, lots of kicking and growing in my ribcage.

Exercise/Activity: Unfortunately I was minimal at exercising this week due to a cold. I still got in 2 days despite trying to get better.

Sleep: Sleep is ok.

Maternity clothes:  Yes.

Stretch marks: No.

Belly Button: Out.

Food cravings: Swiss cheese, cherries.

Food aversions: None.

Movement: Lots.

Best Moment of the Week: Seeing a healthy baby on the ultrasound. Plus sneaking a look at the 3d was cool too. Seeing her little cheeks, lips and nose was so cool.

Worst Moment of the Week: None.

What I’m looking forward to: 

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Hoping for a good result from my glucose test…I’d love to get news that I passed! I really don’t want to have to take the 3 hour test.

What I miss: Nothing.

Next appointment: Friday, Aug. 14 at 2:30pm

Bump comparison:

28weeks

28 Weeks Pregnant with Baby #2:

28weekscrop

3 thoughts on “Baby #2 BUMP REPORT – 28 Weeks

Leave a Reply

