Baby #2 – BUMP REPORT – 25 Weeks

25weeks

PREGNANCY WEEK 25 – July 11, 2015

My belly is the size of a soccer ball this week according to my sources. Baby girl sure seems to get that memo since she is kicking like a soccer player in there. We have officially chosen her name, though we won’t share what that is until her birth. If your guess is “Spring,” “Summer,” or “Autumn,” I can tell you right now, you are wrong! Believe me, I wish I had a dollar for every time someone asks me that…I’d be rich! Haha. I’m a good sport though. I do like the names Summer and Autumn, but with Winter already in our family, I’d never use one of those names. Though it may drive my friends crazy, baby #2’s name is top secret for a few more months! It’s fun knowing that we have chosen her name. Eric has started praying for her by name, and Winter can even pronounce her baby sister’s name fairly well (is that a hint?).

I am ecstatic that my foot is feeling majorly improved. I took the doctor’s advice and have been wearing good sturdy shoes nearly all of the time (even when I’m at home inside). This has made a big difference. I think my shoe essentially acted like a cast or brace to keep it from continuing to move around too much and worsen. I’ve been walking like a crazy woman and lifting weights like it’s my job, so my body is not feeling deprived of exercise. In fact, all this strength training is helping me stay lean. With my foot feeling SO MUCH better, I hope to add some running back into my exercise routine soon, as I have a 5K race coming up that I’d like to run. The race is in two weeks.

We suddenly have had big progress in baby’s nursery. Because Winter is such a great sleeper, we want to keep her in her own crib as long as possible. We bought another crib for the baby and changing table this week and set them up. Having those items made me excited to start working on the decor of the nursery, so I bought fabric and began working on some projects. I also bought a sewing machine so that I can sew items myself. This week I sewed a teething rail guard, crib skirt (no sew skirt, just like the one I made for Winter’s crib) and diaper changing pad cover. We also bought curtains and crib sheets. The room is coming along nicely and I am so excited it’s coming together. I will post more about the nursery down the road as it comes together.

There are many of my friends who are also pregnant this year, and some of the due dates are coming up now that it’s July. There was one girl who had her baby this week and another who is due this week. Seeing others having their babies is making this feel all the more real for me that I’ve only got a few short months left until we have ours. Crazy! Time, slow down!

My mom is a nurse, and she was telling me about a little one year old baby she was caring for this week who was born prematurely at only 25 weeks! He was due October 25 of last year. That would be like my baby being born now! Wow. I’m grateful that God has given this baby a good safe place to grow, and I hope to be blessed to carry her to 40 weeks. It’s amazing knowing that if she were born now, she could survive though.

My age: 29

How far along: 25 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a cauliflower (13 inches and 1.5 pounds)

Gender: Girl

Events of this week: Watched the fireworks with friends, went to church, set up the baby’s crib, went to story time at the library, saw a movie at the theatre with Winter, went to the zoo, went on a few walks with friends, had bible study, went to FAM night at church with our small group, going to a baby shower tomorrow.

Symptoms: Belly is growing.

Exercise/Activity: I exercised 5 days this week. My muscles are getting strong and toned from all of this weight training. Since my foot is starting to feel so much better, I am going to attempt adding running back in this week. I’m signed up to run a 5K race in two weeks.

Sleep: Decent, no complaints.

Maternity clothes:  Yes.

Stretch marks: No.

Belly Button: Partially out.

Food cravings: Smoothies, swiss cheese, cherries.

Food aversions: None.

Movement: She is kicking and moving like crazy. Sometimes I lie in bed and wonder if she’ll ever quiet down.

Best Moment of the Week: Getting the baby’s crib set up and started to work on the nursery projects.

Worst Moment of the Week: Seeing Winter so terrified of the fireworks on 4th of July.

What I’m looking forward to: Running again.

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Nothing.

What I miss: Nothing.

Next appointment: Friday, July 31 @ 8:00 am – checkup, 28 week ultrasound & glucose test.

Comparison with first pregnancy:

25weeks

25 weeks pregnant with baby #2:

25weekscrop

6 thoughts on “Baby #2 – BUMP REPORT – 25 Weeks

  1. I have just had my baby girl at 35 weeks and 5 days. She is 9 days old today She was in a rush to come and ended up having an emergency c- section which was a shock after 3 previous natural births . She was fine and totally completes our family of 3 boys and a little princess. It’s strange not having a bump anymore and then I remember it’s even better I have my bump here my gorgeous daughter😊 loving your blog from here in the England🇬🇧

    • Oh I’m so glad to hear that she is completely fine and healthy! I bet that was a complete shocker to have an emergency ultrasound after having natural births. Hope you are enjoying this sweet time with your new little girl. I’m sure her brothers aren’t sure what to do with her quite yet:) I know I’ll miss my bump once it’s gone. I missed after my first daughter was born!

Leave a Reply

