How I do my chalkboards – PicMonkey Tutorial

Chalkboardtutorial

“How do you do your chalkboards this pregnancy?”

I’ve been asked by a few people how I’m doing my chalkboards.  It’s no secret that I’m a busy mom.  In my first pregnancy I used Chalk Ink markers to draw pretty handwritten chalkboards to mark each week of my pregnancy.  This time, I have a toddler, which means I don’t have time to spend 45 minutes to an hour every week drawing a chalkboard.  Instead, I found the idea to add text to my chalkboard using a photo editor, which is much simpler.  I stand next to my blank chalkboard and snap a photo.  Then I upload the photo to PicMonkey.com, which is a free site with a lot of cool fonts and shapes.  I did upgrade for a small free to the deluxe version since I get the premium fonts.  It’s super simple and it is much quicker than drawing the boards each week.  There’s the secret to my cute chalkboards…sans chalk! 🙂

1. Take a photo next to a blank chalkboard.

2. Upload the photo to http://www.picmonkey.com, a free website.

3. Add text, numbers and shapes to the chalkboard to design it in a way that appeals to you.

4. Crop photo & upload it to your blog.

Leave a Reply

