Baby #2 BUMP REPORT – 16 Weeks

16weeksPREGNANCY WEEK 16 – May 9, 2015

We are celebrating Mother’s Day this weekend.  You are 40% of the way there. I have my 16 week checkup on Monday morning and hope for a good report that you are growing well and have a good strong heartbeat. I will likely be scheduling the next appointment for 20 weeks, which will include the anatomy ultrasound. Even though it’ll be fun to find out your gender, I don’t have a pressing desire to know immediately.  I just care that you are growing and healthy, and whether you are a boy or girl really doesn’t matter to me.  Daddy and I have talked and we think it’d be so much fun if you are a girl because Winter would LOVE to have a sister two years apart from her age.  On the flip side, a boy would be fun because that’d be uncharted territory and something new and different.  While I don’t have a strong preference, I think I’d slightly more prefer another girl.  But who knows??  Less than a month until we know.  Until then, I’m okay waiting.

My age: 29

How far along: 16 weeks

How big is baby: the size of an avocado

Gender: Unknown – we think probably a girl

Events of this week: On Cinco de Mayo, we went to a Mexican restaurant with several of our mom and baby friends. I hosted a playdate at our house one morning. I spent 3 days at a women’s conference through our church.  I went with the girls from our life group, and we had a fantastic time.  One of the nights we got a hotel room, that was a blast. It has been unusual weather for Colorado since it’s been dreary and raining all week.  This weekend is SUPPOSED to be my Mother’s Day 9K Race in Boulder, but because it has been down pouring rain for a week without stopping, the race just got cancelled due to flooding.

Symptoms: Not as nauseous as last week, headaches have let up, feeling much more energy, not going to bed early anymore, not napping daily anymore, occasional hip flexor pain, legs/arms fall asleep sometimes if I sit too long, heartburn, feeling pretty good!

Exercise/Activity: I ran 3 days this week. I’d have liked to do one or two more days of exercise, but it wasn’t possible because I was at my conference. My race was supposed to be on Sunday, but due to flooding and poor weather, it got cancelled.  That’s the first time in history I’ve ever had a race cancelled! Maybe I’ll sign up for a 5K that our church is putting on at the end of May.  Overall, I am feeling much more energized for exercise since I’ve made headway into the 2nd trimester.  Grateful to be feeling less tired and able to exercise more.

Sleep: Sleep is good, some nights I don’t even get up at all, but usually it’s once a night to pee.  My dreams are still insane.

Maternity clothes:  I went and did a little shopping to help pump up my maternity wardrobe. At Destination Maternity they were have 30% off so I bought 7 shirts.  I went to Ross and got about 7 shirts there too.  I’m excited about all of my new pretty things!  I’m 100% wearing maternity clothes now with the exception of some flowy shirts that gracefully drape over my bump.  I think it’s safe to say that I look pregnant.  Even to strangers.

Stretch marks: No.

Belly Button: In.

Food cravings: Pasta, sweets, fruit, carbonated beverages.

Food aversions: Chicken.

Movement: No movement. At my ultrasound (in March) I was told my placenta is anterior and that could cushion me from feeling a lot of movement.  I am going to ask the midwife about this at my appointment.  Hopefully I’ll feel something soon.

Best Moment of the Week: The women’s conference at church was awesome!

Worst Moment of the Week: None.

What I’m looking forward to: Hearing baby’s heartbeat this week, scheduling the 20 week ultrasound, and going to visit my BFF in Texas.

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Praying for a smooth trip flying solo with a toddler this week.  I am going to Texas to visit my BFF for a week.  Winter usually is a decent traveller, but because our flight is in the afternoon, I am not sure how Winter will do missing her usual naptime.

What I miss: Nothing in particular.

Next appointment: Monday, May 11, 2015 at 9:20 a.m.

Here’s a look at 16 weeks with my first pregnancy compared to this one.  Wow!

16weeks

Leave a Reply

