BUMP{LESS} REPORT – Baby Winter Elizabeth

41weeksbabychalkboardBABY LUTE WAS BORN!

Welcome to the world, Winter Elizabeth Lute!  Winter was born on Thursday, October 10, 2013 at 6:37 p.m. in Denver, Colorado.  She weighs 7 pounds, 2.5 ounces and measures 18.5 inches long.  She has a full head of dark brown hair and daddy’s blue eyes.  She is healthy and completely perfect.  Eric and I couldn’t feel happier or more blessed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I sit down to write, I have no idea where to begin.  I will plan to write a completely separate blog post about our birth story, but wanted to give an update on what’s been going on and how we are doing!  The past 5 days have been a blur, but we are enjoying every second of this precious addition to our family.

We arrived to the hospital on Thursday afternoon at 1:30 p.m. and welcomed Winter into the world by 6:37 p.m. that day.  Her birth was beautiful and I would not change a single thing.  (But as I mentioned, I will write out the full story when I have more time.)  We stayed in the hospital for two nights and arrived home on Saturday afternoon, ready for our brand new adventure!  We haven’t gotten a whole lot of sleep since then, but it’s well worth every second.

The winner of the baby pool is my brother-in-law Jason.  He must have great intuition, because he guessed her name, birthday, weight and length (nearly perfectly).  Way to go, Jason!  We also had a lot of other great guessers who got the birthday correct, including me!  Other correct 10/10 guesses were: my sister Maggie, blog friends Priscilla Marie, Carin, and Katie, my Aunt Carol, Eric’s Grandma Helen, and my college friend Franki.  Way to go, everyone!  10/10 is a cool birthday!

1384102_10102940668977728_314613613_n

Baby Pool final results — way to go Jason!

Until I get a chance to write Winter’s birth story, here is just a series of snapshots of what we have been up to:

IMAG0641-20131010-220227

First family photo!  This was taken just moments after Winter was born.  We had skin-on-skin time before she was weighed and measured.  She even started breastfeeding right away!

IMG_627822971613172

Mommy is SO PROUD of her little girl!  This was taken right after we were moved into our recovery room post-delivery.

1378099_10102933318263618_1077667598_n

Before her first bath.  Just an hour or so old here.

1377538_10102935206344888_319272980_n

We are so proud of our little angel!

IMAG1223

Winter is the most beautiful little girl I’ve ever seen!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Getting ready to take her home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One proud Daddy!  He is so amazing with her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Snuggling baby Winter before leaving the hospital.

1378693_10102938539091038_1754653279_n

First car ride!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Family photo as we arrived home! 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sleepy Winter just melts my heart.  This is how she looks after she breastfeeds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Winter loves being a baby burrito.  Daddy is the best at swaddling her!

1376986_10102947101591718_1278963526_n

This is what I get to live and breathe for now.  Winter is my precious angel.

Thank you so much for all of your kind words.  We are all doing great.  Recovery from birth is going well.  Just pray that we get some sleep every now and again:)

Until next time,

Katy

16 thoughts on “BUMP{LESS} REPORT – Baby Winter Elizabeth

    • Thanks Jessica! We are really trying to cherish every moment. Even in our sleep deprived state, we seriously don’t even care that we don’t sleep because we are so in love with her. I keep feeling like it’s all going to go way too fast!! So we are just trying to breathe in every detail.

  1. Winter is precious! You guys make the cutest little family! I am so proud of you guys! I cannot wait to meet my little niece next Wednesday night!!! Love you guys!

  2. I am so happy! You did so well! My hubby is the best at swaddling too 😉

    I can’t wait to hear your birth story! Sounds like you rocked it! Xo

  3. Oh my gosh, this post warms my heart! I’m so glad that her delivery was what seems to be a fast and good experience. I bet you can contribute a lot of it to you keeping fit. Also hope the nursing is going well. :-).. Congrats again on the perfect lil girl!!

    • Yeah I think staying in shape definitely paid off! And breastfeeding is going well with a few hiccups, I’ll have to explain that in more detail later. Winter is a born feeder and she is already gaining weight!

  4. Awww I just loved reading this. I was smiling the whole time. It sounds like everything went so well and I can’t wait to read even more details. All of the photos are fabulous. I especially like the family photo of you three with Winter in the striped onesie. Btw, i LOVE the name Winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

