BUMP REPORT – 34 Weeks

34weekscantaloupePREGNANCY WEEK 34

My age: 27

How far along: 34 weeks (countdown – 6 weeks left)

How big is baby: the size of a cantaloupe.  She is approximately 18 inches long and weighs 5 pounds.

What have you been up to: This week has been so much fun.  My sister Melody and her husband Andrew are currently here in Florida visiting us.  We have really been enjoying our time with them.  I will post more about that next week.  I’m a little delayed on writing my BUMP REPORT this week because it’s hard to pull away from the fun in the sun and spend time on the computer!  Thankfully it’s the morning so I’m the only one awake – so I have time to write.

This past week we had our ultrasound!  We were SO EXCITED to see our baby girl since we hadn’t had an ultrasound since 19 weeks.  It was really cool to see her and how much bigger she is.  Also, we were only expecting to see the regular 2D sonography, but the ultrasound tech occasionally would turn on the 4D imaging so we could see different things.  At first, I could barely tell what was what, but then when we saw her face it was such a crazy experience!  Our little girl has chubby cheeks, hair on her head and my nose!  We could see her opening and closing her eyes, and even making faces.  Eric and I agree that we are so excited to meet her in person in “real life” and see those features for real.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the waiting room before the ultrasound.  We were so excited!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Post ultrasound with our photos of Baby Lute!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Proud momma!  Do you see the resemblance?  Haha, just kidding!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Exercise/Activity Level: I did 6 workouts like usual for this week.  3 runs and 3 cardio/weights days.  On my cardio/weights days, I’ve been using the rowing machine for cardio almost exclusively.  It’s interesting doing the rower with a big belly, but I make it work!  For weights, I’ve focused on free weights and kettle bells this week.

For running, two of the days were treadmill-based and one was outside (it was overcast, yay!).  Running continues to be hard, but I keep having really empowering/successful runs each week, so I feel really fulfilled!!!  This week I had a new 8-months-pregnant accomplishment: I ran for 36 minutes STRAIGHT without a single break for walking.  3.1 miles (5K distance) took me 36 minutes (a far cry from my pre-pregnancy pace)….I really felt on top of the world.  Go me!  I know this won’t be possible too much longer.

IMG_20130826_115824

My sister and I post-workout yesterday….I can’t believe how big this belly is!

Maternity clothes:  All maternity.  Still swimsuits.  Only one more week left in Florida, so I will probably never have opportunities to wear those swim suits again this pregnancy.  I am looking forward to wearing more fall-like clothes…leggings with boots and cardigans.

Stretch marks: None.  My sister is going to jinx me though, she is shocked that I don’t have any.  I told her, “heyyyyy, I still have 6 weeks, hopefully I’ll still be ok!”

IMAG0770

My belly is pretty huge, but thankfully still streak-free!

Belly Button: It’s out.

Sleep: Sleep is great.  My no-drinking-any-water-past-9pm rule is working flawlessly!  I average one trip nightly to the bathroom.  Otherwise I sleep like a rock.  I’m sleeping better now than I have in my 1st and 2nd trimesters.

Newest baby milestones this week: Baby continues growing rapidly!  She is putting on lots of body fat to fill out her frame.

Best Moment of the Week:   We had our hearts melted watching her on the ultrasound this week.  As I mentioned, we were not there for a 3D or 4D ultrasound, just the normal 2D sonography.  But the ultrasound tech turned on the 4D imaging multiple times to “double check” something.  I think she just wanted to give us a thrill so we could see our baby’s face….and I admit, it was really crazy to see our baby.  She is pretty squished in the womb, so her arms were covering part of her face.  But we could clearly see her open and close her eyes and even scrunch up her face to make a pouty-face!  So neat!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Worst Moment of the Week: Getting into a fight with my poor husband….  I can’t wait to get these hormones back to normal.

Food cravings: My eating is still really healthy.  Still no dessert/sweets or junk foods consumed in over 3 weeks.  I’m pretty to the book on eating.  My snacks I crave are apples and peanut butter or greek yogurt.

Food aversions: None.

Symptoms: Braxton Hicks contractions.  Trouble rolling over.  Feeling heavy.  Feeling like my belly is huge.  Can’t touch my toes.  Need assistance to get up from the couch.  Hip and joint pain (that has DEFINITELY kicked in!!)…I think it is starting to cause me to walk a little differently (uhhhmm, waddle?)

Movement: She moves so much.  My entire belly gets mis-shapen when she rolls around, lol!  She still gets the hiccups a lot too, sometimes as much as 3 times per day.

Gender: It’s a Girl

What I’m looking forward to: I’m looking forward to this last week in Florida.  I want to enjoy every last drop of time we have left!!

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Our 28-30 hour car trip back to Denver next week.  I think it will be fine, but I am slightly nervous with how much more frequently I have to pee now compared to the drive out here.  We did a 3-day drive here, but our plan for the way home is to shove it into 2 days.  It will be hard, but we think 2 15-hour days will be better than 3 days.

What I miss: Simple things…like tying my shoes without struggle or painting my toe nails.

Next appointment: Friday, August 30 at 9:45 am.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

13 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – 34 Weeks

  1. you’re so adorable 🙂 and I LOVE the ultrasound pictures, it just amazes me to think that’s what’s actually in our bellies… cute chubby cheeked babies! You should be proud of your continued running, I do miss it, but feel SO big, I just don’t think I could right now! Take care of your self and have a good trip back to CO!

    • Thank you, you are so sweet!

      Yes, it was quite incredible to see her face. Obviously I know there is a baby in there, yet it’s totally crazy to see that there is REALLY a baby in there! Sometimes it just seems so out of this world knowing that a ewborn is living in my belly.

      You ran really far into your pregnancy too! Ia am not sure if I’ll be able to continue once I’m back at mile high altitude once I get home to CO….guess the next week or two will be telling. You are almost done and you’ll be able to run watermelon-free in no time! You’ll feel so light. I’m looking forward to post natal running too.

  2. Safe travels! Be sure to stop as frequently as needed to walk around. Especially where you are so active, sitting for such an extended time will wear on your legs-gotta keep the circulation going. 🙂

    • Thanks, that is great advice. I’m nervous about the long hours of sitting in the car, but e will stop as frequently as necessary. I haven’t had a day of swelling until our drive out here in July. It definitely was prevalent during that entire roadtrip, so I’m anticipating it will happen again. If it takes us a week of driving due to all of our stops, so be it! Hope you are doing well!

      • When we drove I wanted compression pants but figured that was overkill lol, so I wore a tighter kind of legging (from my fav place, Target). That seemed to help. Everything will be ok 🙂 Enjoy your last week in FL! I so miss it there.

  3. So precious! I love the photos of you guys waiting for your ultrasound. Those photos are SO neat! Her little face is so cute and I can’t wait to see her once she is out!

    Awesome work on the running! Some women can run all the way though and I think you are going to be one of those women! So awesome.

    Sending you lots of love on your drive back!

    • Thanks, I’m a little biased that I think she looks adorable too! Seeing her makes us even that much more excited and ready to finally meet her. It feels so close yet so far away until that day gets here.

      I hope to keep on running as long as I can. We will see how the altitude affects things. It is strange, I actually feel BETTER running than I do walking. Seems backwards. If it weren’t for my Gabrialla support belt, therewould be no.hope!

    • No kidding! This time in Florida has really flown by! We have been here almost 6 weeks and now things are wrapping up for us to head home next week. I guess time flys when you are having fun!

      I’m sure your days are flying by too with precious little Charlie!

    • 6 weeks, I know, so close yet it feels like a lifetime away since I’m so excited!

      It’s funny how tricky such basic functions become, lol. I do a fair amount of grunting too:) Eric asked me tonight to wake him up (from sleeping in bed) if I needed assistance getting up off the couch. He is too sweet. I told him I’d manage. Now if he offers to help me paint my toes, I might not say no!

Leave a Reply

