BUMP REPORT – 31 Weeks

ImagePREGNANCY WEEK 31

My age: 27

How far along: 31 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a pineapple.  She is 17 inches long and weighs approximately 3.8 pounds.

Exercise/Activity Level: I was sick all week long (booo!!!  It’s fun to have a head cold in the summer!).  Despite being sick, I pushed myself to still workout 6 days this week.  The one day I did give myself complete rest I was pretty darn sick that day and NEEDED to rest.  On the days I did workout, it was mainly at the gym in an air conditioned setting.  I still completed 3 days of running.  Only one of those runs was outdoors, the other 2 were in the gym on the treadmill (with A/C and a fan blowing on me).  The heat and humidity of Florida are enough to about kill this pregnant lady!  I realized that if I am going to do any outdoor runs, it HAS to be early in the morning.  Even going at 8:00 am is WAY too hot and humid to safely run outside here.

For my non-running days, I have consistently been doing at least 40 minutes of cardio followed by weight lifting.  I swear the other people in the gym have never seen a pregnant lady working out before!  I feel like they are all looking at me funny when they see me on the rowing machine or ellipital trainer or (GASP!!!!! Heaven forbid!) running on the treadmill!  Having others around actually gives me even more motivation to keep pushing myself!  I want to give them something to talk about at home to their spouses. “Dude, I saw this pregnant chick was at the gym and she just kept running and running on the treadmill.  I hope she doesn’t go into labor right there in the gym!  I don’t need to see her water breaking.”  Haha!

Maternity clothes:  Mostly my swimsuits.  Since I live in a beach condo for another month, I doubt I’ll wear much else.  Swimsuits, workout clothes (to workout) and pajamas (to sleep)!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here I am in one of my swimsuits.  I have several that I bought from Motherhood Maternity.

Stretch marks: None. I even got a compliment at the doctor’s visit on how nice my skin looks on my belly.

Belly Button: Out.

Sleep: Sleeping continues to be excellent.  The only hiccup in my sleep was due to being sick with a head cold all week long.  There were at least 2 nights in a row where I was absolutely miserable because I was congested, coughing or blowing my nose.  Aside from the sickness causing ill nights of sleep (pun intended!), I am sleeping wonderfully.

Newest baby milestones this week: Baby girl is head down!!!!  I had my first Florida doctor visit on Friday and our little girl is bottoms up and head down.  I’m so excited about this!  For the past week and a half, she has found a new favorite spot in the womb.  She pushes her whole back and butt into my right side and stretches out.  She does it everyday.  A few times she has pushed so hard that it nearly takes my breath away and I have to stand up to “make more room.”

Best Moment of the Week:  I love living (temporarily) in Florida.  Last week it was so much fun to have my friend Kristin here with me!  She is such a doll—-she actually did the 3 day drive with us and then stayed in Florida for a week.  The 10 days were such  blast.  We spent lots of time on the beach, many hours soaking in the pool, went to Disney World Magic Kingdom for a day, went running together and she even helped me find a doctor (which consisted of us driving around to 5 different O.B. offices to drop off my medical records before a doctor would even consider letting me schedule an appointment!!)  What a hassle—but Kristin went along and supported me that day.  Anyway, it was so much fun having her.  She left mid-week and then my parents & siblings arrived the day after she left.  So now I’m enjoying my time with my family this week.kristinfl

Kristin and I at the Florida state line on our 3 day drive!  Thanks hunny for taking the pic:)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kristin and I enjoying the beach!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We tried to stay in the shade as much as possible — this Florida sun is strong!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kristin’s last night in Florida.  We went out to dinner at Coconuts on Cocoa Beach.  It was a neat place.  She and Eric split a bucket of beer on ice — this pregnant lady just got to jealously watch.  Fun times!

Worst Moment of the Week: Being sick.  It was a full week of sickness, yuck!  I had a sore throat, head congestion, runny nose, stuffy nose, cough, etc.  No fun.  I just tried to tough it out until Friday when the O.B. told me it was ok for me to take Tylenol Cold & Sinus.  I started taking it on Friday and it helped me feel better the past few days.

Food cravings: I’ve eaten TERRIBLY this week.  Ice cream, cookies, fruit roll ups, etc. I’m motived to start a new week with fresh goals for eating better!

Food aversions: None.  Just hungry.

Symptoms: Pregnancy symptoms.  The usual!  Mild heartburn, trouble bending over, trouble getting up from the couch, growing belly, peeing a lot, etc.

Movement: My entire belly changes shape.  The other morning Eric and I lied in bed just watching her move all over the place.  We could be entertained for hours doing this.  Also, on Saturday morning I felt & saw baby’s hiccups for the first time!  That was so neat!

Gender: Girl

What I’m looking forward to: My family is visiting right now for several more days, so I’m just looking forward to continuing the fun with them while they are still here!

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Praying to stay healthy now that my cold has tapered off.  It’s no fun being sick!

What I miss: I miss being able to reach my toes.

Next appointment: Friday, August 16 at 9:45 am.  I did have my first Florida doctor visit on Friday, August 2nd.  I love the doctor’s office I chose!  Everyone is really nice there and I felt like they spent a lot of time with me.  The nurse practitioner really seemed to care about me.  It was fun to be able to take my mom along to the appointment since she is here visiting.  She got to hear her grand daughter’s heartbeat (which was 156 bpm).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are just a few more for fun!  We took a few watermelon pics…inspired by Pinterest, of course!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

19 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – 31 Weeks

  1. So fun! Your baby girl’s movements are a lot like mine. I went to the dr. today and she said she thinks what I am feeling is her hip- but she pushes it out on the right side just like yours does. Glad to hear FL is going well!

    • How funny that our little girls are doing the same movements!! She consistently pushes into my right side every day!! It’s so funny. My mom says that babies get a favorite spot that feels like their comfort zone.

      • Haha yeah true, at least she likes it!! Sometimes when she does it, I felt so uncomfortable that I have to stand up (if I was sitting down) and I sorta push against her to get her to move. It nearly takes my breath away! I can’t even imagine since you are a few weeks ahead in pregnancy how much MORE it would be uncomfortable.

  2. You look so cute. Love all of the photos!

    About the gym, oh my gosh I get the same thing. I go every single day, and do the elliptical and lift. The other day, one of the doctor’s in town was there and he kept watching me life. I was doing shoulder press with 15 pound dumbbells above my head and he said to me, “does your husband know you are doing that?”. And I replied “he sure does!”. Then he proceeded to ask me who my OB was as if I was doing something TERRIBLE. When I told him I don’t have an OB, but a midwife, he rolled his eyes. It really is funny how everyone wants a say in our pregnancy. I will literally workout until I deliver! Keep up the good work! It will pay off in labor for sure.
    xo

    • Wow, that is INCREDIBLE that that man had the audacity to say those things to you!!! I would have been fuming if someone said something like that to me. I think the looks and stares are enough to get me riled up, lol. Seriously, working out is so good for pregnancy…why don’t people get it?! Way to go for keeping strong with your workouts. Are you still running too?

      • Can’t wait to read it. You ran really far into your pregnancy, which is amazing. I am not sure how much longer I can keep running…my goal is to keep running as “long as possible”….and I doubt once I’m back in the high altitude of Colorado that I will even be able to think of the idea of running since my body has gotten acclimated to sea level. No matter what, once running isn’t an option, I will still workout daily. Way to go, girl!

  3. Gosh, you look so gorgeous in your swimsuit…and you’re still running! You have got to be so proud of yourself. I am totally jealous. 😉

    Glad you found a good doctor’s office while you’re in Florida. That will make it easier.

    • Thanks! I am living in swimsuits these days! You are so sweet, I don’t “feel” gorgeous in them, but I know I’m going to miss this bump when it’s gone.

      Yes, I am so happy I found a good doctor here. It was quite a process because I’m so far into pregnancy and no one wants to even consider taking you on as a patient until they make sure you aren’t high risk. What a hassle. But I really liked my experience at my appt. last week.

  4. You are looking great Mamacita! My baby sticks his whole butt out too, but on my left side! It’s the weirdest thing, and definitely takes my breath away haha. He just stays there too, and my tummy is all sorts of lopsided haha. I’m impressed you are still working out! I wish I was! But I’m sticking to walking when I can. The walk to and from the subways everyday are about all I can handle most days haha. You are getting close! 🙂

    XO,

    Gina

    http://www.popcornandpandas.wordpress.com

    • Good to know my baby isn’t the only one doing the booty dance:)

      You are looking fab as well! I always love following your blog and seeing your amazing fashion! I wish I still dressed nice, but since I’m 1. not working now and 2. on an extended FL vacay, I am pretty much only wearing swimwear or workout clothes. Once I get back home perhaps I’ll put a little more ummph into my style. Doubtful, lol! You always look great!

      Walking is GREAT exercise! Way to go for keeping up with that!

      • Aww thank you! It’s tough the bigger and bigger I get, but it’s a fun challenge. 🙂 Jealous you are swimming in Florida! My extended “vacay” is coming soon though haha. Getting excited!

  5. You look so good and I love those swimsuits. Definitely cuter than the one I found. Our baby was positioned the exact same way and she would always stick her little heel out on my left side. That’s exciting that you can see her hiccups. It’s so funny to watch them, but I also felt bad when she had them because you can’t do anything. It’s common for them to have them after birth as well. Hopefully you are over your cold and can relax and enjoy the rest of your pregnancy. Love all the photos!

    • Thanks Katie! I’m so excited to hear your birth story when you post it!! Charlotte is so cute and I love that you are going to call her Charlie. You look so pretty and happy in your pictures. Hope you guys are doing well.

Leave a Reply

