BUMP REPORT – 30 Weeks

Image

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What a whirlwind of a week!  That is an understatement for sure:)  Last week we drove from Colorado to Florida in 3 days.  Prior to the trip I was experiencing a lot of apprehension about the looming drive hanging over my head.

THE DRIVE.  Though the drive was long and was not easy, I must say I was pleasantly surprised at how well my body responded to 28-30 hours on the road.  We drove through Colorado, Kansas (which felt like 5 years straight), Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia and Florida.  We stayed overnight in Missouri and in Georgia.  Overall, I felt pretty comfortable.  The one small complaint/issue I experienced was swelling in my feet and ankles.  Prior to the road trip, I had yet to experience any swelling.  I did some research and learned that the swelling was due to my lack of circulation because I was sitting in a car for such long periods.  To help combat the swelling, any time we took a pit stop for gas, I walked around for at least 5 minutes to get my circulation going.

IMG_20130724_122100

ARRIVING IN FLORIDA.  We finally arrived in Florida on Wednesday.  What an exciting feeling after traveling for what felt like ENDLESS days.  We checked out our condo (which is beautiful, I might add), went to the grocery store to get groceries, and got my first Florida run done (at sea level!!!!! —great for a high-altitude gal!).

So far while I have been in Florida, my friend Kristin and I went to Disney World Magic Kingdom, gone to the beach and pool everyday and worked out everyday.  Disney World was fun because it was my FIRST time to ever go there in my entire life!  The humidity was pretty unbearable, but the magical experience of Disney trumped the moisture in the air.

IMG_20130725_122037

5 YEAR ANNIVERSARY.  July 26, 2008 marked the day that I married my best friend.  On Friday we celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary by going out to dinner at the Tiki Bar on Port Canaveral.  We actually got to see them gutting two small sharks at the restaurant!!  How crazy.  It was neat to watch but I felt a bit queasy watching the shark get cut open.  Needless to say, I did not eat shark for dinner, but we did indulge in a decadent chocolate cake dessert as part of our anniversary celebration.

IMG_20130726_201703

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

PREGNANCY WEEK 30

My age: 27

How far along: 30 weeks

How big is baby: the size of cabbage.  She is 16.5 inches long and weighs 3.5 pounds.

Exercise/Activity Level: I somehow managed to workout all 7 days this week despite a hectic travel week!  Some of these days the exercise was pretty limited (like a couple of my runs were only about 1.5 to 2 miles long because of limited time availability).  I did no weight lifting this week except for one day, so my gym workouts were cardio only.  My cardio goal is to always complete at least 40 minutes (40 minutes for 40 weeks of pregnancy!).  I exceeded that cardio goal on all of my gym days this week.

My 7 days workouts consisted of: 4 outdoor runs (1 in Missouri and 3 in Florida, lol) and 3 gym workouts.  Since we are now in Florida and I have a new gym, I incorporated the rowing machine.  Normally I wouldn’t think the rowing machine would work very well during pregnancy because I have a huge belly and no core strength.  Turns out, as long as I focus on using my leg and arm muscles to perform the exercise, I can somewhat eliminate the core part of the movement.  I think the rowing machine is going to be a new staple of my cardio at the gym.

rowmachine

Maternity clothes:  This week I have worn shorts, tank tops, dresses and swim suits.  That is all.  But mainly shorts or swimsuits.  Such is the life of living on the beach, I guess!  There was one day that I forced myself to put on “real” clothes at night because all I’d worn that day was: my workout clothes (to workout) and then a swimsuit all day.  I have a feeling this is going to be a new norm for me.

Stretch marks: None.

Belly button: A bit of an outie.  🙂  I predicted this would happen by 30 weeks.

Sleep: My sleep has been incredible this week!  We traveled for several days and I think the pure exhaustion of the trip helped me sleep like a baby (even in hotel beds).  Now at our condo in Florida we have a super comfortable bed and I LOVE my fantastic sleep!  Keeping my fingers crossed that this lasts a while.

Newest baby milestones this week: Baby girl’s eyesight and brain development are continuing to improve in the womb.  She can also now regulate her own body temperature, so she is shedding her lanugo hair that covers her skin.  She continues to put on more body fat!

Best Moment of the Week:  This week my husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary.  It is so special to be married to someone as incredible as Eric is.  I love him 100 times more now than I did when we even got married 5 years ago!  In August, we will have known each other for 9 years, and in February we will come up on our 9-year-anniversary of being together.  We have been through so many ups and downs over the years.  We feel that God has blessed our relationship beyond measure.  This baby girl is just one piece of proof that God is blessing our lives!

On our anniversary this week we celebrated by going out to dinner at the Tiki Bar on Port Canaveral.  It was really fun to go out, have a good meal and eat a delicious dessert.  5 years is a big deal!

Worst Moment of the Week: Last week’s worst moment of the week was about my failed 1-hour glucose screening test.  I want to update you on my glucose tolerance test (the 3 hour test I had to take to screen for gestational diabetes).  Thankfully I found out that I passed the test and I do not have gestational diabetes!!!!!  I am so relieved and thrilled by this news!  Out of the 4 blood draws (fasting glucose, 1 hour, 2 hour, and 3 hour draws), I passed all 4 with flying colors.  My numbers were no where near the cut off range.  Praise the Lord!

A-plus

Food cravings: Yogurt (Muller Greek Corner), milk, fruit roll ups, salad, fruit, ice cream, and FOOD!  My appetite has really grown lately.  I feel like I’m starving a lot.

IMG_20130725_063828

Food aversions: None.  In fact, I am actually loving chicken now!

Symptoms: Terrible heartburn (boooo!!) and growing belly.

Movement: She has started pushing herself into certain spot and pushing into that spot HARD!  When I was at the doctor 2 weeks ago, the doctor said she was lying in the transverse position (lying across my belly, not up and down).  I can feel her pushing into my sides a lot.

Gender: Girl

What I’m looking forward to: My parents and 2 of my younger siblings are coming to Florida for a week-long vacation!  I can’t wait to see my dad, mom, Mark and Christine.  It’s going to be so much fun having them here, playing on the beach, swimming in the pool and just spending time together.  My brother and sister are heading off to start their freshman year of college in a few weeks, so this will be my last chance to spend time with them while they are still “kids.”

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Not a thing!  This time in Florida is just what the doctor ordered for my 3rd trimester!  Relaxing on the beach and at the pool is amazing.  What am I praying for?  I continue praying for a healthy baby girl and a healthy pregnancy.

Next appointment: TBD.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

14 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – 30 Weeks

  1. Congrats to making it to 30 weeks! That’s seems like a great milestone.. Did you happen to notice your energy going down once you got to the 3rd trimester? ( I’ve read that happens).. Sounds like you had a great week! Enjoy the down time you now have 🙂

    • I have noticed a slight decrease in energy. I’m not sure if it’s directly related to being in the 3rd trimester or if it has to do with my traveling…who knows. But yes, I do feel a bit more tired. I’m still pushing myself to workout and try to continue running because exercise gives my energy level a boost for sure!

      • Thanks that’s good to know. I am hoping exercising will help. Might start going to the gym soon as walking/jogging longer distances is becoming slightly more difficult. And I really need to start doing more Yoga, lol.

      • Yeah the gym is always a good option since there are more low impact options and weights. I’ve still been doing my runs, but a few days I’ve done treadmill runs because of the heat here. Running is getting so hard! I haven’t done any yoga….I should try that! Do you do yoga occasionally?

      • Some is better than none!! Plus, you are doing other exercise anyway. Sometimes it’s hard to fit it all in when you want to do so many types of workouts.

  2. I’m glad you got to FL all right and it sounds like the traveling wasn’t too bad. I am super jealous that you went to Disney. I have yet to go there and I fear for my husband when we do because he’ll have two kids to keep track of 🙂 I love Disney!

    Congratulations on your 5 year anniversary!

    • Disney was fun! It was so humid and it was pretty exhausting walking around in the heat all day long at 7 months pregnant….but totally worth it! My husband didn’t get to go because he had to work (the whole reason we are I FL is for his work), so my girlfriend and I went together. It was magical!! So fun to go, even as an adult. I imagine I will take my kiddos there someday, just like you someday will!

      My favorite part of Disney World was watching a live performance on the stage of the castle. Mickey Mouse, Minnie, several Disney princesses/princes, Peter Pan, etc all did musical numbers of singing and dancing. It made me feel like a kid again. I actually am going to be honest and say that I started tearing up while watching it:)

  3. What a momentous week for you two. Congratulations! I hope you two enjoy your time in Florida.

    As for Disney, I hope you had a great. My BFF and I spent some time there last year (it was her first visit) and we had a ball!

    • Disney was really neat! I didn’t feel at all limited due to pregnancy…although I got a lot of sympathetic comments and looks because it was so hot and humid. My friend and I were standing in line to get pineapple floats (you would love it since you crave pineapple!!!), and one lady was asking me all about my pregnancy and feeling bad for me since it was so hot out.

  4. All I can say is…I am so, so jealous that you are spending your third trimester in Florida. How do I make this work for myself? Ha. No, really, good for you!!

Leave a Reply

