BUMP REPORT – 29 Weeks

ImagePREGNANCY WEEK 29

My age: 27

How far along: 29 weeks

How big is baby: the size of butternut squash.  She is 16 inches long and weighs 3 pounds.

Exercise/Activity Level: I worked out all 7 days this week.  Normally I do like to take one complete rest day, but I skipped a rest day in case I end up with an extra rest day this week due to our road trip across the country.  We have 3 full days of driving and my goal is to do some sort of exercise each day, but we will see how it pans out.  This past week my 7 days of workouts consisted of 3 outdoor runs (still loving my support belt!) and 4 gym workouts (although I slacked on weight training a tad this week–only 2 days of weight training, the other days I did only cardio for 40-60 minutes and no weights).  My runs are still going well!!  Still slow and steady with walking breaks, but still going strong with a smile on my face:)

Maternity clothes:  Nearly all maternity at this point.  I wear a lot of tank tops, shorts, maxi skirts and dresses.  The dress I’m wearing in this week’s picture is not a maternity dress, and I doubt I’ll be able to squeeze into it much longer.

Stretch marks: None.

Belly button: A little piece of my belly button is now slightly sticking out.  So I’d be lying if I said my belly button was an innie.

Sleep: Sleeping is fairly decent as of late.  My “pillow cave” is really helping.  We will see how having a new bed for 6 weeks in Florida goes:)  This week we will be in a couple of hotels during our road trip.  I am taking my body pillow.

Newest baby milestones this week: Babies start reacting to sound and light at this point in fetal development.  Her head continues to grow to make room for her ever-expanding brain.  Fat deposits continue to form under her skin, plumping her up.  🙂

Best Moment of the Week:  The best moment of the week was definitely my baby shower.  Three of my girlfriends have been planning this shower for quite some time, and it turned out beautifully.  We had a nice turnout of guests and it was such a blast!!  The theme colors of the baby shower were purple and teal/turquoise with a sundae bar.  The sundae bar was perfect on a hot summer July afternoon.  Here are just a few snapshots from the shower.  I will do a full blog entry about the baby shower later this week…so stay tuned!

collage1Pictured above are me with my 3 amazing shower planners (Ashley, Dana and Mandi)!  They did such a wonderful job and I am so grateful for their friendships.

collage2 Here are a few pictures to show the shower.  The sundae bar was amazing:)

collage5Opening gifts.  My little baby girl is going to be STYLIN’ in her adorable outfits she received!

Worst Moment of the Week: I failed my 1-hour glucose screening test.  Believe me, I felt devastated.  I shed many tears and felt pretty low.  So I took the 3-hour glucose tolerance test (checking for gestational diabetes) on Friday morning as a more in depth test.  The test was AWFUL…I was so sick.  I felt like I was going to pass out, felt like I would throw up, had violent shakes, was dizzy, was so hot I was sweating buckets and felt just terrible.  Thankfully after about an hour and a half I started feeling a bit better.  My sweet mom and sister both spent time talking to me on the phone and the distraction was much appreciated.  I now have a bruise on my arm from getting my blood drawn 4 times.  I am supposed to find out the results of the GTT test by Monday/Tuesday.  Keeping my fingers crossed for good results.

Food cravings: Fruit, ice cream, mashed potatoes, milk and string cheese.

Food aversions: I ate chicken again this past week.  Baby steps:)

Symptoms: Heart burn, frequent peeing, ever-growing belly, etc.

Movement: Very active little girl in there.  Cute story: one morning I woke up nestled up to Eric’s side, and he was delighted that he could feel all of her kicks against his own belly (since my belly was pushing into him).  Normally the body pillow is between us in bed (sad, I know), but it wasn’t that morning so he got to feel her kicks when I was still sleeping.  He loved that.

Gender: Girl

What I’m looking forward to: Arriving in Florida.  We should arrive on Wednesday night (after driving full days Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday).

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Praying for our drive across the country these next few days.  I am writing this blog on Sunday night, but by the time it’s posted on Monday morning we will be several hours into our endless drive.

What I miss: Having more energy.  Oh, and also being able to shave my legs without grunting and straining.

Next appointment: Not sure.  I need to set up an OB doctor visit in Florida for next week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

16 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – 29 Weeks

  1. I hope your travels go well and you arrive safe and relaxed. I also hope your test comes back negative. I had to take the three hour test twice since I did throw up the first time from all that sugar! So I know how unpleasant it is.

    Have fun in Florida. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    • Oh boy, you had to take the 3 hour test TWICE?!? I am so sorry, I bet that was awful. Thank goodness I didn’t throw up and have to re-test. I totally get why you threw up though, I almost did too! Thankfully I got my results yesterday and I passed all 4 blood draws. WAAHOOO!!

      We arrived safely to FL yesterday, so now the relaxing can begin—finally! It was a long drive, but good.

      Hope you are doing well! Thinking and praying for you!

  2. Praying for you while you travel… and hopefully you get the news soon that you passed the 3-hour glucose test!!!

    P.S. Love that dress! Isn’t it awesome when you can find something that’s already in your closet to work as maternity wear?!?! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the prayers. They worked–the trip went really well! We finally arrived yesterday and I’m glad to be done with all that time in the car.

      I got great news about my 3-hour test results — NO GD!! Thank you so much for thinking and praying for me. I just feel so relieved.

      And yes, it is nice to have a few non-maternity pieces that still work because I won’t feel guilty wearing them after the baby is here:)

  3. Hope you have a safe and comfy drive to FL!! I can’t wait to hear more about your baby shower. I love the fruit inhanced water in the mason jars. 🙂 I think you should give yourself major props for getting those work outs in no matter how big or small they seem to be. Also hope you get positive news back from the glucose test. ( I hear it isn’t too uncommon to fail the 1 hour. I have mine next month).

    • The drive went really well. Much better than I expected. My main complaint was that I got really stiff from long stretches without breaks and that I had swelling in my feet. I have had no problems with swelling until this car ride. I think it was the lack of circulation that caused my feet to plump up. But overall it was a great trip across the country!!

      No GD here—thankfully! So glad for good news. I heard it is also pretty common to fail the 1-hour test, but it still felt so awful to fail something. Just glad that is all behind me. Hopefully your 1-hour test goes just fine, because the 3 hour one is no fun.

      I will post more about the baby shower now that I’m getting settled, stay tuned.

  4. Too bad about the GD test 😦 Your baby shower looks great though! I especially love the mason jars of juice. It’s too bad you said that dress you’re wearing isn’t maternity, because I love it and was just going to ask where you got it!

    • Well thank you. Even though it’s not a maternity dress, it still works. I bought it at Gordmans. I bought one in black too because they were on sale. This one probably won’t fit too much longer since it’s already pretty tight, but the black one I bought in a size L so that one should work all the way until the end! I like that I will be able to wear these dresses post-pregnancy since they aren’t technically maternity:)

      Good news: no GD here!! I am so relieved.

  5. Have a safe trip. And try not to fret too much about the glucose test. You are still a fabulous mom and providing a cozy, safe home for your girl. 🙂

    Also, I now want a HUGE bowl of mashed potatoes thanks to this post…

    • Thank you! The good news is I can eat a huge bowl of mashed potatoes too:) My test results came back 100% normal—no gestational diabetes!! I passed all 4 blood draws.

      The trip went well–we are here!! Yay, that was a long 3 days though. Days 1 and 2 were each 11 hours and day 3 was about 7 hours.

    • I am very glad too. I was upset I even had to take the 3 hour test. It really was an awful experience. Just thankful I passed and me and the baby are both healthy. Glad to hear your glucose screening went well:)

Leave a Reply

