BUMP REPORT – 28 Weeks

ImagePREGNANCY WEEK 28

It is great that the 3rd trimester is here.  I am excited for this phase because it puts me just that much closer to the final result: our baby girl being here.  Time is starting to pass by very quickly, so I have a feeling that this final trimester is going to fly before my eyes.  I also am looking forward to all of the relaxing I get to do these next few weeks/months before the baby comes.  We leave for Florida for our 6-week-trip on Monday.  I’m now done working (which is nuts to be jobless since I’ve always been a tad of workaholic!) and it’s just time to relax and enjoy these last few months.  Eric will be working while we are in Florida, but I won’t.  I have several people coming to visit, so that will be fun.

With all of this extra time on my hands, it’s time to start kicking reading into full gear.  I have SO MANY books that I’ve bought since I finding out we were pregnant.  Some of these books I have already finished reading, and others I am still working through.  I wanted to share these books and let you know what I think about them:

Books

1. What to Expect Before You’re Expecting.  I bought this book about 4-5 months before we planned to conceive our baby.  This book talks about all the ways it’s good to prep your body for the marathon of pregnancy.  It also talks about how to cope with a pregnancy that just isn’t happening and things that could be wrong.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. The Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy.  This book will have you laughing your head off!  It’s written as a alternate route to a more formal pregnancy-info book.  The author says in the book you will learn all of the things your doctor won’t tell you.  I loved this book, but don’t recommend it as a stand-alone book.  I think there is also value to reading an educational pregnancy book in addition to this book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. The Girlfriend’s Guide to Surviving the First Year of Motherhood. I actually haven’t started reading this book yet, but plan to do so soon.  If it’s anything like her first book, I’m sure it will be super practical and useful approach to motherhood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy.  I was sent this book for free from our health insurance (yeah I know, score!).  It is a very informative/educational pregnancy book.  I like it much better than What to Expect when You’re Expecting though.  It has really good pictures and graphics.  I find myself picking this one up a lot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5. What to Expect when You’re Expecting.  I don’t love this book.  At all.  In fact, when I was newly pregnant and reading this book, I felt very overwhelmed and scared by some of the information I read.  My doctor advised me to stop reading this book!  So I did.  I have recently picked it up again and started reading bits and pieces, but not letting myself get to that scared place again.  It does have useful information, but I like the Mayo Clinic book much better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Your Pregnancy for the Father-to-Be.  I am not reading this.  Eric is.  We bought this early in the pregnancy….  I don’t know if it’s good or not, but I think he likes having information to tap into that is geared towards him as a soon-to-be daddy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. YOU Having a Baby.  I just started reading this book last night.  So far I LOVE it!  It’s kind of like an educational book with humor tossed in!  I have a feeling that I will actually read this entire book from cover to cover.  I like it’s style.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8. 100,000 Baby Names.  Obviously I am not “reading” this book, but using it for ideas for our little girl’s name.  Deciding on a name is super hard!!  I like knowing the meaning of names, so this book is great.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

9. The Mommy Diet.  Alison Sweeney is the host on the Biggest Loser (a show I’ve watched for years), so I picked this book up.  It’s general book about how to eat, exercise, and dress during the stages of your pregnancy.  It’s a nice book, but pretty surface information that I already knew.  I like it, but I haven’t really learned anything new from reading the book.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10. Belly Laughs.  Jenny McCarthy is a pretty funny lady.  This book was a one-day read.  I read it when I was about 5 weeks pregnant and really enjoyed it.  She doesn’t sugarcoat anything about pregnancy.  She is super real about what happened to her and puts a hilarious twist on it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

——————————-

PREGNANCY WEEK 28

My age: 27

How far along: 28 weeks!!  Welcome to the 3rd and FINAL trimester!!!

How big is baby: the size of kabocha squash.  I’ve never heard of this before:)  She is 15 inches long and weighs 2.5 pounds.  If you look at the picture I found from Baby Center below, it shows how baby currently looks in the womb.  It’s just CRAZY for me to think that she is getting so big.

28weeksbaby

Exercise/Activity Level: I am absolutely LOVING my Gabrialla Maternity Support Belt!  I mentioned last week that I had purchased one Amazon and tried it out with great results.  Well, after a full week of use, I can say that I am a believer.  Using the belt while running has been absolutely great.  I feel so much lighter and feel less impact in my belly.  I feel much “safer” I guess…like my baby is more protected while I am pounding the pavement.  I have also worn the support belt to the gym and it’s ok, but I don’t know if it’s fully necessary to use it at the gym because I stick with lower impact exercise there (usually a combination of the arc trainer or stair master and weights).  Overall, this past week’s workouts went really well!  I did 6 days like I usually do (3 outdoor runs and 3 gym days).  On my one rest day of the week, I was in a total funk.  I think there may have been a correlation with my funk coming on a non-exercise day.  Exercise just keeps me sane and feeling so good.  It’s hard work to exercise every day, but totally worth it.

jean1jean2Maternity clothes:  One day this week I put on a maternity shirt that I was wearing at around 17-19 weeks a few times.  For whatever reason, I haven’t worn it since then, and let’s just say it fits a slight bit differently than it did 10 weeks ago!  Granted it was a size small, and I more typically wear size medium.  I have started wearing more dresses and shorts since the weather is full-swing summer.  For a while I was uncomfortable wearing shorts, but I bought a pair of jean shorts (made by Indigo Blue via Motherhood Maternity) with side panels that I love….  I love how they still feel like regular button-up shorts that go under my belly.

Stretch marks: None.

Belly button: Flat belly button.

Sleep: My sleep is by no means great, but there has been an improvement since last week!  I found a useful trick that has tremendously helped me: I place my body pillow in front of me, and then about 2-3 regular pillows right behind me (like I’m in a cave).  Adding those extra pillows behind me has made a world of difference in my sleep quality!  Thank God!

Newest baby milestones this week: Baby’s lungs are continuing to develop.  Baby is busy coughing, sucking, hiccuping, and taking practice breaths. Her sleep now includes the REM phase which means she is dreaming!

Best Moment of the Week:  Getting a lot accomplished on the baby’s nursery.  I will eventually post pictures of the finished product, but right now we are still missing a few things: a glider chair and ottoman, a crib mattress (and all of the crib sheets/set).  So just to give you an updated glimpse of baby girl’s nursery….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Worst Moment of the Week: I decided that it would be a fun experience to go garage saling.  I haven’t been to a garage sale since I was a kid.  I have heard that people find so many great baby items, so I thought it would be worth my time to check this thing out.  So on Saturday morning, I got up and started driving around, turning at the bright “SALE TODAY” signs posted on neighborhood corners.  I had a major fail.  In 2.5 hours, I went to about 11-12 places and bought zero items.  Now perhaps my strategy was off….maybe I should have looked up specific baby-focused garage sales and mapped out a plan…I don’t know.  But let’s just say this: I was sweaty, exhausted, worn out from looking through people’s junk and by the time I got home, I had a full on melt down.  No more garage sales for this lady in the near future.  (That is, unless I have someone to guide me in the correct paths of garage saling.)

Food cravings: Fruit, string cheese, milk, ice cream, orange pop and orange sherbet.

Food aversions: I finally ate chicken this week!  That was a winning moment.

Symptoms: Ribcage pain (sharp pain!!–I even went to the doctor last week to get this checked out, and the severe pain is from my ab muscles tearing), heart burn, less than perfect sleep, hunger pains, and frequent trips to the bathroom.

Movement: She is moving like crazy.  My belly will be jolting all over the place and Eric and I are kept entertained:)

Gender: Girl

What I’m looking forward to: My baby shower this weekend.  I have three girlfriends who have put this shower together and they have kept me really in the dark about the plans.  It will be so good to see everyone, especially since we will be leaving for our 6-weeks-in-Florida trip two days after the shower.

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Praying a lot for our 28-29 hour drive to Florida next week.  We leave on Monday and will drive for 3 days.  I know that it will be an adventure, but part of me is nervous about that many hours in the car.

What I miss: Little things: like bending over to tie my shoes, or getting up off the couch with ease:)

Next appointment: Tuesday, July 16: tomorrow!  This is when I will have my 1-hour glucose screening test.  I am hoping this goes well and I pass.  I have to consume this drink tomorrow morning before I get to my appointment.

IMAG0439The fun “juice” I get to drink tomorrow morning for my gestational diabetes testing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My adorable husband and dog:)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

28 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – 28 Weeks

  1. I started following your blog and you have inspired me to exercise a lot more than I have been! I don’t know why everyone acts like pregnant women must be lazy but that is the vibe I got until coming on this site. So thank you! Keep up the good work 🙂 You look fabulous.

  2. Oh my goodness… I’ll also be praying for you and that car ride! Yikes. Bring that body pillow along, maybe that will help with comfort while riding???

    You’re still looking SO GOOD! I just love your baby bump. Have fun showing it off at your baby shower 🙂

    • Yes my body pillow (aka my best friend, j/k) will be coming on the trip with us! I can’t imagine going 6 weeks without it. And hopefully it helps with the long car trip too:) I’ll keep you posted next week!

  3. Awe! I love the chalkboard this week!! 🙂 Congrats on making it to 28 weeks!!! Also, thanks for putting up those books. I think I will read the Girlfriend’s guide. I have ready Belly laughs and have started her second one about the first year.

    What sort of pains were you getting with running? First I had ligament pains now I am having groin pains. Hoping it gets better before I do the Color Run next month.

    • The main pains/issues I get with running are: extremely tight calf muscles, feeling heavy/slow, and then more recently the tendons on the inside of my leg (on my ankles) get REALLY tight and hurt. My hips are starting to get achy when I run too. I totally babied these ankle tendons (mainly my right leg) by wrapping it, icing it, heating it, elevating it (RICE—except I skipped the R part, “rest” lol). My tendons honestly feel great now.

      I haven’t really had too much of an issue with groin pains…hopefully that clears up for you. Chiropractic might help!! I’m always an advocate for chiropractic:) Good luck with your color run! I want to do a 5K race while in Florida….I figure the lower elevation (compared to Colorado) will feel great!

  4. So, my from now on you should just assume that everytime I read your updates i am SO impressed with your running. Got it? Good. I promise not to repeat myself from now on. 😉

    Also, where did you get the purple and white globes in the nursery? Do they like lights inside of them? I love them! I also have pain in my rib cage that sometimes goes all the way around my upper back, in a band. I’m considering going to a chiropractor. Don’t know if it will help.

    Jealous of your trip to Florida! What a great way to spend the 3rd trimester!

    • Thanks–I am trying to work so hard to keep up my running. My runs are nothing compared to the pre-pregnancy runs I used to do (slower pace, less distance, more walking breaks, etc). The main thing for me is that I NEED to stay active for my sanity….my goal is to keep running for as long as I can!

      The purple and white globes are from Hobby Lobby. I saw this idea on pinterest and loved it! It’s really affordable decoration…it was like $15 for all of the globes. I didn’t put lights in them, although you could. I just like the look of them—zero functionality:)

      You should def at least try the chiropractor if your pain is bothering you so much! I didn’t get any relief for my ribcage pain, but it has helped my back pain and round ligaments tremendously. Pregnancy is a super great time to be getting chiropractic adjustments…I hope it helps you!

  5. I totally relate to the poor sleeping around 26-28 weeks. It wasn’t until then that I really figured out how to make my “snoogle” work for me. I too sleep toward it, and hold it as I sleep. I put one leg on each side of it. It works AMAZINGLY.

    I have had the major ribcage tingly, and pain, but only after napping or laying on my back or side for too long. It’s such a weird uncomfortable feeling!

    I am so excited for you to be done with work! You are going to have a great time reading and enjoying the Florida weather. I have so much I would love to be doing (since I don’t work either) but am so tired lately. Reading is a GREAT idea! I think I will have to check out a few books you recommended.

    Have a great trip! xooxoxox

    • Yes this whole sleep thing is so hit or miss with pregnancy:) I’m glad that you have reached a successful place with your snoogle pillow. I am also very glad that I’ve reached a somewhat solution with my body pillow & pillow cave I build at night when I go to bed! It really seems to help having pillow support surrounding my whole body.

      Seems like this ribcage pain is an issue I’m not alone in…sorry you are having it too. My doctor said it’s just due to the baby growing up higher in the torso and all of those ribs being pushed and stretched (as well as ab muscles pulling and stretching). I have a feeling our ribcage isn’t going to get much relief (until the babies are here, that is!)

      I am also super excited to be finished working! I was actually really nervous about it, but I am loving it so far. This week I’m focusing on wrapping up life before our trip (lots to do to prep for 6 weeks away!)…but I’ve been reading so much! I thought I’d watch more tv, but I rarely watch any. Reading is so great because I am feeling more prepared and knowledgeable for what is happening. I need to find a good breastfeeding book still.

  6. You are right, your husband did an amazing job on the crib. I bought all of the necessary items and supplies today, and the sprayer came in the mail, too (love you, amazon.com!) so hope to get ours all done soon.
    I use the same support belt, and really like it. I stick it in my work bag too, for when 12 hours gets a little long to be on my feet, and the belly gets heavy.
    I’m SO jealous of your job-less time! ENJOY it 🙂 safe travels!

    • Awesome, I’m glad you were able to get all the supplies for painting the crib!! It felt like a long process, but all of the steps are worth it once the crib is done and looking beautiful. I’m sure your crib will turn out amazing.

      The gabrialla belt seems to be widely used amongst the pregnant ladies I follow:) I totally get why—it’s great! I have a feeling our belts will get a lot of use in the last month of pregnancy, even for just around the house wear.

  7. Glad things are going well and that you are in transition/vacation mode. Enjoy your time off!

    Also,I love the nursery. Adorable!

    • Yes, I am definitely going to take full advantage of this time off. I feel a bit guilty that I can now sleep in….but then I realized that since I’m having a baby in a couple of months, I am never going to be able to have the opportunity to sleep in again. With this in mind, I no longer feel guilty:)

  8. You look so great. You always look so polished! If you’re looking for more reading material I recommend “Be Prepared: A Practical Handbook for New Dads”. It’s both funny and informative (with illustrations). I got it for my husband for Father’s Day.

    I love the nursery photo – it’s really coming together. Can’t wait to see it all complete!

    It’s great that you’re going to have all this time before she arrives to relax and prepare. Make sure to enjoy it and pamper yourself.

    Good luck on your glucose test. I really hope you pass and don’t have to do anything else.

    • Thanks Katie, you are so sweet. You seriously look amazing, btw! I can’t believe you are 37 weeks—I hope I look half as good as you do at 37 weeks!

      Thanks for the recommendation on the book, I will have to check that one out! With all this newfound time on my hands (esp in FL where I have no friends or family or life), I might even read a book for new dads:)

      Glucose test went well (except I felt pretty yucky and my stomach was a mess all day yesterday). I get my results today, so my fingers are crossed that I passed. The thought of doing a 3-hour test seems awful!

  9. LOVE LOVE LOVE the chalkboard this week! Congrats on the 3rd trimester. It’s such a great milestone.

    Sorry about the ribcage pain and the muscle tear. It’s rough. I’m glad you’re liking the running belt too though! It’s amazing the difference it makes. I’m hoping it helps us both make it through the end of the pregnancy still running!

    Many prayers for your long car trip! I have a feeling there will be many stops along the way 😉

    • Thanks, I totally saw this chalkboard on another girl’s blog, so I kinda stole her idea. I just thought it was super creative and cute. And yes, I am stoked to be in the 3rd trimester now:)

      Thanks for recommending the Gabrialla belt. I am really loving it. What a huge difference it makes!! I will keep my fingers crossed for you that you are able to keep on running as long as possible. How far into your pregnancy with your son did you keep running?

      Yes, many stops on our drive is an understatement:) I will also blame the stops on the dog…since he will also need to have potty stops too! My husband has already been prepped that we will need to take a lot of stops.

  10. Lookin’ good Mama! I would also recommend the book, Bringing Up Bebe by Pamela Druckerman. I really enjoyed it, and think there are some interesting tips and things to think about after reading the book. I had my hubby actually read it too, and it’s been great for discussion points on post-partum. Good luck with that car trip! Hope you have a good time and that you are feeling well!

    XO,

    Gina

    http://www.popcornandpandas.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for the book recommendation! I will have to pick that one up. I’m just zipping through books lately since I have much time for reading, so I will definitely have time to squeeze another one in:)

      You look great, btw…I really love all of the fashion on your blog!

    • Why thank you—I actually bought the fabric at Jo Ann Fabrics and sewed them!! I am no Suzie Homemaker, but I figured curtains were pretty simple to make. I’m sure you can buy something similar, but it only cost me about $55 to make these. I’m pretty sure I saved some money:)

Leave a Reply

