Dr. Appointment Today + Maternity Clothes

Dr. appointment.  This morning I went in for my regular monthly O.B. appointment.  It feels like I hadn’t been to the doctor in ages, and realistically it was only 5 1/2 weeks since I was there.  The visit was a pretty standard check-up: urine sample, weight check, blood pressure, listen to the baby’s heartbeat on the Doppler, measure my belly’s fundal height and ask for any questions.

One thing I was really curious about was to see how much weight I’ve gained.  I don’t weigh myself at home, so I just find out each time when I’m at the doctor.  As of last time I was up 9 pounds (at 19 weeks), and as of today (24 1/2 weeks) I’m up 14 pounds.  I feel like that’s pretty good!!  For some reason I was expecting more since my body just FEELS huge, haha!  I’m hoping that I keep my total pregnancy weight gain between 25-35 pounds as recommended by the doctor (hopefully more like 30 or less).

Today was the first time the doctor measured my belly’s fundal height.  She said that the measurement should be within a centimeter or two of the number of weeks pregnant I am.  I measured 24 cm, so that’s right on track!

Baby’s heartbeat was in the 140s.  When we listed on the Doppler, it was so much clearer and easy to hear than it has been on previous visits.

My next appointment will be in 4 weeks from now.  That is when I’m scheduled for the glucose screening.  They gave me this bottle of “juice” I have to drink before I come in to the appointment so they can test my blood sugar.  The results of the test help determine if gestational diabetes is an issue or not.

IMAG0439

Maternity clothes.  One of my good friends mentioned a while back that she had a bin of maternity clothes that I could use.  She dropped the bin off last night and I am SO EXCITED for a ton of new items to wear!  There are so many really nice clothes….shirts, pants, capris, leggings, dresses, etc!  I definitely am set on maternity clothes now.  I have been feeling like I am very limited by my small maternity wardrobe lately.  Now that is no longer an issue since I over DOUBLED my current wardrobe.  I am just so excited!!!  (Can you tell?? haha)

IMAG0438

2 thoughts on “Dr. Appointment Today + Maternity Clothes

  1. So far, what brand do you like the best for Maternity clothes? I have found a few shirts I like that I got from Ross. But I haven’t found any bottoms yet. Two more months for me before I get to drink that tasty orange drink. 🙂

    • Of the collection I have, Motherhood Maternity seems to be what I like best. I have some skinny jeans and capris that I got from Ross that I really like too. My friend gave me Motherhood Maternity, Gap Maternity and Pea in a Pod and I really like them ALL!! I’m just so excited that I don’t have to buy anything else now since I’m set on clothes (yay for friends who are done having babies!)

Leave a Reply

