BUMP REPORT – 23 Weeks

ImagePREGNANCY WEEK 23

My age: 27

How far along: 23 weeks

How big is baby: the size of Subway footlong.  She is 1 foot long and weighs 1.1 pounds.

Exercise/Activity Level: Keeping strong!  6 days in again this week, yay me!  3 outdoor runs, and 3 days of cardio & weights at the gym.  My calves continue to be really tight when I run, boo:(

Maternity clothes:  Yesterday I put on a regular shirt that I could still wear 2 weeks ago….and it was NOT WORKING!  Crazy how quickly that happens.

Stretch marks: None.

Belly button: Innie.  Becoming more shallow.

Sleep: Sleeping well for the most part.  Minus sleeping on the ground on a thermarest for camping over the weekend.  I woke up multiple times in the night with an aching hip and shoulder.  Plus, I woke up at 3:00 a.m. with a strong urge to pee.  That’s the worst when you wake up in the pitch black night of the woods while camping to go to the bathroom!  I contemplated not getting up and holding it until morning, but realized after about 15 seconds that it wasn’t going to work out.  So I climbed out of my sleeping bag, unzipped the tent, and only got about 6 feet away when I decided that was far enough away.

Best moment of the week: Getting away over the weekend to go camping with just my hubby and our dog was great.  It reminds me how great it is to slow down and take a deep breath every now and then!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy to be on a relaxing camping weekend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eric and I.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My handsome husband and my precious dog Koda!

Food cravings: Peaches, grapes and Milk Duds.

Food aversions: Chicken.

Symptoms: Heartburn isn’t as bad as it was a few weeks ago, but it’s still there time to time.  I also notice it’s getting harder to bend over and reach for things.  I made a loud grunting sound when I reached for an X-ray film the other day at work, and quickly looked around to see if anyone heard my unintentional grunt!  Haha!  My belly also seems to be growing by the day, leaving me with a sore low back and soreness around my ribcage.

Movement: On Thursday, June 6th was the first time Eric felt her kick!  It was so exciting!  We were lying down on the couches that evening watching Extreme Weight Loss with Chris Powell (I am sucker for life transformation TV shows!)…and she was kicking strong enough that I could feel her with my hand on my belly.  I made Eric come over and he instantly felt two solid kicks.  It was such a special moment for both of us.

Gender: Girl

What I’m looking forward to: Seeing my brother and sister-in-law in a few days from now!  My brother Luke and his wife Ellen are missionaries in the country of Nicaragua.  I feel 100% spoiled that they are coming to Colorado and are able to spend a number of days hanging out with us around Denver.  Because they live in Central America, it’s not very often that I get to see them.  Their (almost) 2-year-old David is my nephew who I have only met in person one time.  Emily, who is nearly 4-months-old, is my first neice!  I will be meeting her in for the first time when they come!  I’m so excited to spend time with them!!

What I’m nervous about/praying for: I’m a little nervous about the idea of feeling uncomfortable (especially with my ever growing body) in the heat this summer.  It’s been hot here and so shorts are back on the menu….I feel kind of like a huge whale and just uncomfortable.  I know it’s totally silly and irrational, but it’s how I feel sometimes.  I’ve been praying that God will help me feel better and that shorts are not going to be my worst enemy.  Body image has always been a constant struggle for me since about age 12.  So this is nothing new.

What I miss: The occasional drink.  I’ve never been a huge drinker…but something about the idea of not being allowed to have a drink makes me desire one!  Summer BBQs and parties are here, and I’m the water or lemonade drinker now:)

Next appointment: Friday, June 21 instead of June 11..  Had to reschedule my appointment due to my work schedule.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – 23 Weeks

  1. Camping while pregnant… way to go, girl! Unfortunately, my love for sleep is currently out-weighing my love for camping. BUT, I’m still seriously considering a trip to Flagstaff for a short (one-night) camping trip. I desperately want to get out and do something outside somewhere much cooler than Phoenix – I’m dying here!

    P.S. Love your pink top! Pink for baby girl 🙂 I’ve noticed that I am wearing more blue lately and even painting my nails in blue shades… just super excited for that little boy!

    • Yeah and this isn’t our only camping of the summer….we have two more weekends planned. I don’t know if I can make it the entire weekend though…one night was enough on my body! You should go to Flagstaff—only one night, you can make up for the bad sleep the next night:)

      Thanks…how funny you tend to wear more blue since you are having a boy! If I had more pinks I’d wear them, but I am limited to the maternity clothes I currently have. I don’t have many pink things, but a lot of teal since that’s my favorite color!

  2. You are so cute. And I LOVE your dog! How adorable.

    No worries about being uncomfortable and nervous about the heat. I’ve been going through that ever since it warmed up here in northern Illinois last month. You are limited to what you can wear to work…and you are limited, a little, in what you can wear at home just to stay cool and comfy.

    Hang in there!

    • Thanks Kayla—I love my dog too:) Of course.

      Glad to know someone is going through that same feelings of discomfort as I am. Pregnancy is just temporary, so I try not to let myself get hung up on the negatives…but I slip sometimes:(

  3. You look gorgeous! What a perfect little bump you have going! I read from 22-26 weeks the baby doubles in weight! No wonder you are feeling and seeing so much growth. I am just finishing that growth spurt and can say that I had major uterus aches and was more tired and hungry that I am starting to feel now. They literally go from 1-2 pounds so it only makes sense!

    Keep up the good work mama!

    • Thanks, you are so sweet! Wow, doubling weight from 22-26? NO WONDER!! My rib cage is so sore everyday…makes a lot of sense! I’ve been more tired in the past week or two, but I thought it was my crazy work schedule right now (I’m back to working full time and I’m training two new employees who will be taking over for me after I leave). Maybe it’s a combination of both major growth plus my overwhelming work life:)

  4. You’re looking so great! I am a little jealous that you have a tan because we have had rain almost every day so far this summer and no sunshine so I am still pale as can be! Not jealous of the heat though. You’ll have to find out where all the pools are 🙂

    I also had an aversion to chicken around this same time – wonder if that’s common? It goes away as I will now eat just about anything in sight.

    • Katie, you are looking great too! You have such a perfect baby bump. I’m not sure how I’ve managed to get a bit of a tan since I’ve been working so much, I think it mainly comes from the sun I get while running and the occasional lay-out sessions in my backyard. I’m jealous of your rain because Colorado is breaking out in all kinds of forrest fires all of the sudden…so tragic when these fires emerge!!

      I’m not sure about the chicken dilemma. I just wish I didn’t feel so opposed to eating it, lol! I keep wondering when my huge appetite will come…I bet soon!

  5. You are too cute! I remember the rib cage soreness with Damian and it’s rough! I’m not there yet with this one but I can definitely say I’m dreading the “my organs are all squished in my lungs” feeling haha

    • Haha…that’s EXACTLY what it feels like: all my organs are squishing together in a small space! The ribcage soreness is becoming a bigger and bigger struggle too! But it keeps me smiling that my baby is growing:)

Leave a Reply

