2012 – Year of Races

Running is such great exercise for both body and mind!  After dreaming about it for years, I finally ran my first half marathon in the spring of 2010.  Ever since that first race, I have loved training for half marathons.  Accomplishing such a feat as 13.1 miles is such an amazing feeling!  Up to date, I have ran 7 half marathons since that first one in 2010.  Eric and I have had 2013 in mind as our planned year to have a baby.  With this in mind, I made the most out of 2012 as far as racing goes!

As the title implies, in 2012, I had a “year of races” since I knew 2013 would be a pregnancy year.  In 2012 I ran 4 half marathons, 1 10-mile trail race, and 1 5K race.  It was a very accomplished running year!  I hope post-pregnancy I will be able to get back to some races.  So far during pregnancy I have run a 5K race.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

May 2012 – Colfax Half Marathon, Denver, CO

I have run the Colfax race a few times.  In May, I didn’t realize this would be the 1st of 4 half marathons for the year.  It was a beautiful day and I had 2 friends who also ran in events that day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

June 2012 – Slacker Half Marathon, Georgetown, CO (at high altitude!)

Boy was this the hardest race I’ve ever done (and my WORSE personal race time too).  The race started at Loveland Ski Resort and ended up in downtown Georgetown.  The race has an overall altitude drop, but it was STILL AT ALTITUDE!!  The race started at 10,800 ft and ended at 8,500 ft.  I don’t have asthma, but I had to use an inhaler mid race.  Thankfully, I had convinced my best friend to run this torture race with me, so I wasn’t all alone!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

August 2012 – Firefly 5K Run, Denver, CO

This was a “just for fun” race with 3 of my girlfriends.  The race started in downtown Denver after dark.  All the runners were decked out in reflective and glowing gear.  It was so much fun to participate in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

October 2012 – Highlands Ranch 10 Miler (Trail Race), Highlands Ranch, CO

What a challenging race!  I did this 10 mile race as a training run for my upcoming half marathons.  It was a trail race that was HILLY and MUDDY!  I ended up placing 2nd in my age group, what a huge accomplishment!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

November 2012 – Heart Center of the Rockies Half Marathon, Loveland, CO

This race was absolutely gorgeous!  The snow capped mountains were in viewpoint throughout most of the race.  We ran around 2 lakes as well.  I loved this race.  I got CLOSE to my PR too.  My PR is 2:06 (which I ran in 2011).  This race I ran in 2:08….so close!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

November 2012 – Valparaiso Half Marathon, Valparaiso, IN

My sisters (me in pink, sister Melody in blue, her friend Kelly in light pink, and sister Maggie in raspberry) are also runners, so I convinced them to run a half marathon all together if I came to them for the race.  It was so much fun!  We dressed in tutus and it was a big hit!  I was hoping to break my PR at this race (since I trained in Denver and came down to sea level for the race).  Due to a high-wind storm,  I ended up finishing in 2:11….so my PR still remains at 2:06.

2 thoughts on “2012 – Year of Races

  1. Wow! What an awesome year you had! I too plan to do some races when the baby comes. My mother in law is buying me the BOB stroller so I am so excited. Are you planning on getting a jogging stroller? Do you have any idea if most races allow you to run with a stroller?

    • I also want to get a jogging stroller for when the baby comes. I hear the BOB is the best one. I actually really want a Jeep jogging stroller though personally. Many races don’t allow strollers, but there are certain ones that do, you just have to find them. But, you can always train with a stroller and than run solo race-day!

Leave a Reply

