BUMP REPORT – Week 18

ImagePREGNANCY WEEK 18

My age: 27

How far along: 18 weeks

How big is baby: the size of a bell pepper (also a sweet potato).  Baby now is 5.6 inches long and weighs 6.7 ounces.

Exercise/Activity Level: I managed to get another 6 days in this past week of workouts.  I did 3 days of running and 3 days at the gym (mainly cardio this week, I sort of slacked on the weights).  Our Colorado spring weather pattern has been pretty funky the past 5 weeks in a row: a 1-day snowfall during the week and gorgeous and warm on the weekends….so May 1st it was snowing and we accumulated 6 inches at our house.  So that day I did my run on the treadmill.  Running on the treadmill is such a BORE!  Those miles felt like they took an eternity to run.  The other 2 runs were both outside running since the snow had melted and temps had increased.  Overall, I feel pleased with my exercise level again.  One of these days I’m sure it won’t be so easy.

Maternity clothes: I am one of those pregnant ladies who embraces the opportunity for new clothes!  I’m not sure why some women are so “proud” to wear a limited amount of maternity items throughout their pregnancies.  I  had one girl tell me recently, “I managed to get through my whole pregnancy with only one pair of maternity shorts.”  Oh please!  My honest opinion is that pregnant bodies look better in maternity clothes.  I am still very much mixing non maternity with maternity pieces as long as I can, but I am fully embracing wearing some new clothes:)

Stretch marks: None.  Though I did get sunburnt from laying out in the backyard on Friday.  Ouch!

Belly button: Innie.

Sleep: Still sleeping well again this week!  I had a friend ask me about sleep and I proudly boasted that I’m 100% thankful for my deep sleep during this period.  I’m soaking it up while I still can!  I am noticing that sleeping on my side does feel better.  I’m a back or stomach sleeper, those are becoming increasingly impossible.  Left side, here I come!

Best moment of the week: Going to Red Rocks Amphitheatre for a concert!  We saw Chris Tomlin (who we both absolutely LOVE!).  It was probably the best concert I have been to in my whole life!!  Eric and I have lived in Colorado for 5 years, and this was our first Red Rocks concert.  It was an out-of-mind experience!

IMAG0302

Eric and I at Red Rocks for Chris Tomlin!

IMAG0311

Chris Tomlin was amazing!

IMAG0315

Between the amazing worship songs and the gorgeous scenery, God’s presence totally filled that place! 

Food cravings: This week on Instagram, one of my cousins posted a picture of swiss cake rolls.  So I instantly craved swiss cake rolls.  I notice that trend lately: I see something in a picture or on TV and I instantly crave it!

Food aversions: Still haven’t eaten chicken.

Symptoms: My back has started to feel sore when I sit too long.  I have to put a pillow in the curve of my low back and it helps.  Also, chiropractic is KEY for this….good thing I have a phenomenal chiropractor!  Also, round ligament pain has started rearing it’s ugly head.  I sneezed the other day and my round ligament hurt for the next several minutes FIERCELY!  Oh boy!  And lastly, I try to keep the TMI (too much info) symptoms to myself, but this one really freaked me out a bit (don’t read if you don’t want to know TMI!!!!!): leaking colostrum from my breasts several times this week.  I never knew it started this early on!  It’s crazy to me!

Movement: Still none.  I have a “feeling” it will be happening soon though!

Gender: Not sure yet.  Only one week until we find out!

What I’m looking forward to: I’m looking forward to summer.  My brother and his wife will be visiting us (and their two sweet kiddos!), we have 5 concerts lined up, camping trips and a trip to Florida.  I’m so EXCITED that summer is right around the corner!

What I’m nervous about: I’m nervous for our anatomy scan next week.  I just hope and pray that we have a healthy baby in there!  It’s nerve wracking to know that the anatomy scan is when we could find out if anything is wrong with baby.

What I miss: I’m a pretty content person…I really can’t think of anything:)

Next appointment: Tuesday, May 14 at 9am.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “BUMP REPORT – Week 18

  1. Your blog is adorable! I don’t know how much of my blog you read, but wow have we had similar pregnancies. We both love to workout, and I craved sweets and fruit and HATED chicken. I still am not all the way over that aversion. I still haven’t really felt any movement…I am sure you don’t have an anterior placenta like me, so you should feel it soon!
    My guess is you are having a girl.
    xo

    • I agree, after reading through many of your blog posts, we indeed have similar pregnancies! That makes me think even MORE that I’m having a girl since you are having a girl! I too LOVE working out (I used to be a personal trainer a few years ago). I hope to knock my chicken aversion one of these days. Sometimes I think I have the courage to try eating chicken and then I get queasy even thinking about one bite! And I’ve always loved fruits and sweets, but these days I just can’t get enough!!

      I’m sorry you haven’t felt movements yet, but they eventually will come, even with an anterior placenta. I bet you are so grateful that you no longer have placenta previa….what a relief for you! I actually have no clue where my placenta is located since my last ultrasound was at 9 weeks and it was super brief. I’m so excited for our anatomy scan in a few days, so hopefully I will have much more of a picture of where everything is.

      Looking forward to following along your journey!

Leave a Reply

